Joy in Obedience

Fear suffocates joy and robs us of God’s blessings.  In 2nd Samuel chapter 6 the Ark (Ark of the Covenant also known as the Ark of the Testimony) [1] is being brought to Jerusalem. God gave specific instructions on how the Ark should be moved [2]. For whatever reason, King David and his men decided to transport the Ark in a different manner. In other words they chose disobedience figuring they knew best. Instead of having the Ark carried, as instructed, they place the Ark upon an oxen pulled cart.

The Bible says, David and the whole house of Israel celebrated with all their might before the Lord, with songs, harps, lyres, tambourines, sistrums and cymbals. Talk about a parade! Can’t you just picture it? I suspect New Orleans Mardi gras parades wouldn’t hold a candle to their display of exhilaration and merriment along the route. All is going according to plan. David and his men filled with abundant joy look forward to a bright future.

scooby-dooRuh-roh! Along the roadway one of the oxen pulling the cart stumbles. Uzzah reaches out and takes hold of the Ark. God gave specific instructions that no person was ever to touch the Ark, for to do so would mean immediate death.[3] God being faithful to his word strikes Uzzah dead. When I look at this passage I can’t help but think, “Wow God, Uzzah’s only attempting to keep the Ark from falling”. But then, I’m reminded to touch the Ark with human hands was tantamount to touching God. I must never lose sight of God’s holiness. God deserves my awestruck wonder and amazement. We’re friends of that there’s no doubt; however, I must never lose sight of who God is. The other thing is if David and his men had followed God’s instructions and not chosen to do it their way, the incident would never have taken place and Uzzah would not have lost his life.

David’s not too happy about the outcome; in fact he gets downright angry; anger rooted in fear. For if God will strike Uzzah dead then surely David’s not free from God’s anger. David became so afraid he was no longer willing to take the Ark with him to the City of David. Instead, David took the Ark to the house of Obed-Edom the Gittite. 3 months later King David hears of God’s great favor and blessing towards the house of Obed-Edom. Realizing his fear has robbed him of blessings rightfully his, he goes and brings the Ark to the City of David. David, now being obedient fills with even more joy than before. There’s nothing like the joy experienced when one’s life is in sync with God.

David’s misplaced anger suffocated the joy right out of him. David’s fear robbed him of God’s favor and blessing. I couldn’t help but wonder when God’s been faithful and true to his Word carrying out consequences, due to my disobedience, have I gotten angry?  Honestly, I don’t need to wonder.  Of course I get miffed. Like David my anger’s rooted in fear.  Fear which questions God’s love. If God loves me then why allow such horrible consequences?  Silly I know, because God does love me no matter what I do or think.  Fear isn’t rational and it causes my mind to run amuck. Not to mention it gives Satan a stronghold.

experience-joyLike David when I let fear reign I miss out on God’s favor and blessing.  I’m not talking about material blessing, although sometimes that’s the situation.  But fear robs me of my Joy.  God’s faithful and true to his Word. I can count on it. When he says, Sandra if you do such-n-such this will happen, by golly it will. It’s that same faithfulness which grants me the knowledge that no matter what I do, he will not leave me. No matter how I behave, good, bad or ugly, he will not remove his love. If I stray a little he’s there to set me back on the right path. He’ll always fight for me. He’ll always take care of me.  He’s available 24/7 to listen and give direction. I can count on it! I need have no fear.

A life filled with Joy is an off the chart blessing. When one has Holy Spirit joy they have great favor. The world seems a nicer place; the future’s not feared; my old bones don’t hurt as much; challenges don’t overwhelm and everyday living has a “rosier” glow.

Until next time,

“Joyfully yours”
Sandra

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones” Proverbs 17:22.

[1] The Ark of the Covenant was a gold-covered wooden chest described in the Book of Exodus as containing the stone tablets of the Ten Commandments. According to various texts within the Hebrew Bible, it also contained Aaron’s rod and a pot of manna. It was also believed that where the Ark of the Covenant resided so did God. Thus it served as the symbol of the divine presence guiding his people.

[2] The Ark was to be carried upon men’s shoulders, never on a cart pulled by oxen. It was to be carried by Levites only, and those of the family of Kohath (Exodus 25; Numbers 1; 4 and 7:9), using the poles prescribed.

[3] Numbers 4:15

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

1 thought on “Joy in Obedience”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

