Sacrifices to Joy

In my last blog post I shared a few of the sacrifices made due to living with a rare incurable disease.  I didn’t use the word choices; I used the word sacrifice.  Why?  At the time I made those decisions they were sacrifices.  Yes, I still miss doing some of those activities, conversely, they no longer feel like sacrifices.

Before my diagnosis I didn’t enjoy being a “homebody”.  I was busy with all kinds of comings and goings, social activities and volunteer duties. I thrived on being active and taking part in several different ministries within our church.  I enjoyed being out and about doing life with hubby or chatting with friends over lunch.  It was always a highlight when we would entertain friends in our home. We’d eat, do some WII bowling, snack, watch a movie, snack, snack some more and share life together. The whirl of activity has died down, friendship nights and lunches not so much anymore.  And… it’s okay.  I’ve discovered I like being a “homebody”.  I love the quiet evenings at home.  I’m enjoying working on my project of downsizing stuff and living a more simplified life. I smile, a knowing smile, when I realize my yearning for simplicity began bubbling within me a little over 4 years ago.  God was preparing me for changes to come. Home life is easier to manage these days, but there’s still much to be completed. I continue to minimize in small chunks of time as my energy or health allows.turtle-with-purple-shell I’m not a whirlwind, but a turtle.  Praise the Lord a turtle’s pace is a wee bit faster than a snail’s pace.

Rereading my journals I read where my heart’s cry was for more of Jesus, more of his presence in my life. CVID has brought me closer in ways I would not have imagined. With life not so busy I find I’m spending more time chatting and less time whining. My love for him is growing as I understand his love for me. He’s become my bestus friend. Today I’m craving more Holy Spirit in my life. I’m excited and looking forward to getting acquainted with him and deepening our friendship. Who could ask for two better friends?

My hubby was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease about 6 months before I was diagnosed with CVID. How’s that for a double whammy year?  Time with him is a precious treasure; as it is for him with me.  We don’t know how much more time we will be blessed to enjoy each other’s company.  Being a homebody gives us the opportunity to spend more time enjoying the little things in life together.  Our time at home is relaxed and enjoyable. Sometimes we do things together, like watch a movie and other times we enjoy doing things side-by-side. I write on my computer, he enjoys YouTube or playing games on his. Another huge blessing is the intimate participation in taking of communion (description below) and praying together at home privately; just the two of us and the Lord. These moments are indescribably precious.  I’m grateful hubby’s still physically able to bowl with friends. I do miss not going with him on bowling nights; but even that’s turned into a blessing. As we’re together pretty much 24/7, he gets his time away to be with the “boys” and I get to enjoy some me time.

I’m an amateur genealogist.  Being home more is allowing me to gift several friends with the legacy within their family’s heritage.   A few were so appreciative they paid for the work I did.  I did it out of the love of my heart; but must admit, their generous gift was greatly appreciated and has allowed me to continue on researching “roots”. I hope to finish some of those scrapbooking projects started long ago. I love taking pictures.  I’m praying and hopeful that allergies will not keep us from making memories while exploring photo opportunities in nature; camera in hand.

I caught a virus in November (8 weeks to recover). I’m heading into my 4th week of recovering from a reaction to  a medication. It’s maddening when you need to heal from a side-effect from a prescription given to help you get well.  Just doesn’t seem right. But, that’s life isn’t it? Yes, these weeks as they drag on wear me down. Sometimes, I can’t help but give in to the “why me blues”.

I feel ashamed when my whiny self appears. Even on those “why me blue days” I know God’s not abandoned nor left me to fend on my own.  He has brought good health in other areas. I’m developing relationships I would never have were it not for my hubby’s or my diagnosis. I’m learning a ton about life and the changes wrought when life throws you a major curve ball; or two.joy-lighthouse-2While I’ve much to learn about CVID, I’m able to share what I learn with others in similar situations. I’m able to encourage through a listening ear of understanding. I’m learning to look for those little moments of Joy in each day. Some days I must search a little harder and dig a little deeper to discover them; when I do, they’re always there.

In life there’s always a flip side of Joy waiting to be discovered. Joy books are a great reward and motivator for Joy seeking (more on this in an upcoming post).

Joyfully yours,
Sandra

“My friends, consider yourselves fortunate when all kinds of trials come your way, for you know that when your faith succeeds in facing such trials, the result is the ability to endure.” James 1:2-3

Communion: Jesus started the tradition of communion. He instructed His followers to use bread and wine to remember the sacrifice He was going to make when He died for our sins on the cross (1 Corinthians 11:23-26).

Jesus called Himself “the bread of life,” which means that we’re nourished by Him, we survive because of Him, and He satisfies us when everything else leaves us empty (John 6:48-51). There’s a connection between our nearness to Jesus, believing in Him, and being fulfilled by Him (John 6:35).

The early Church celebrated Jesus by taking communion, sometimes every day (Acts 2:42-46). They saw that every time they gathered around a table to eat and drink, it was a chance to recognize Jesus and thank God for all He’s done.  https://newspring.cc/articles/what-is-communion-and-why-do-we-do-it

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

6 thoughts on “Sacrifices to Joy”

  1. Thank you for sharing your insights and being vulnerable enough to open your heart to us each time you write. May God continue to bless you as you have blessed us!

    Like

  2. Your a blessing my friend, your writings are so true in different stages of our lives. We all go through difficult times but the One who holds our hand in all of them is guiding your writings to give hope and encouragement to us as we go through life. May the Lord continue to bless you.
    Thanks for sharing
    Marian

    Like

  3. Nicely done. Very positive and insightful. I can see your focus changing from missing the things you used to do to appreciating the “new normal”. Good work.
    (Grapefruit on the front porch.)

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

