“Box of Joy”

JOY – Towards the middle of December, each year,  I begin contemplating a word for the upcoming year.  This year, for some unknown reason, I’ve decided to choose my word in the month surrounding my birth. Using the date you began life seems fitting.

I began the process of asking the Lord for my wisdom in choosing my word. Gratitude and thankfulness rattled around in my head.  I felt strongly those words would be instrumental in my upcoming year but neither one was the chosen word.

imageA friend of the past 25 years flew out to spend my “milestone” birthday with me.  What a joy; she  encourages this gal’s heart.  The gift of her presence was blessing enough.  But there was more.  She made this precious quilt and delivered it personally. What a blessing.  The thought…. perhaps blessing would be my word. Again the answer, it will be instrumental but is not your word.

Another friend has also chosen to bless me by coming for a visit in honor of my birthday. She will arrive soon. My birthday joys just keep on coming! We’ll be ushering in the Christmas season when my birthday celebration comes to an end 🙂 🙂 My friend and I thought it would be a good way to spend our time by reading a book together and discussing its application in our lives. After I moved away from my friend, for a couple of years we did Bible studies via telephone. But then life got hectic and finding a mutual time became a challenge.  Maybe we’ll call each other on our cells, while in the same room, for old times sake.  🙂  We considered several book titles.  All of them great choices which made the decision process a wee bit challenging. Considering her challenging year and my challenges of late, I said, “I think we both need some joy in our lives; what do you think?  “Fight Back with Joy” by Margaret Feinberg made the final cut.

I still feel like gratitude, blessing and thankfulness are a part of the word but not thee word.  I prayed, “I’m getting down to the wire on my word, Lord. I think I need clarity.”  Am I growing dense in my old age, I wondered. “What is it I’m missing?” Could I just say again, I love the Lord I serve?

Today, a rather large package arrived at my home. I opened my surprise package with wonderment. At first all I spied was packing peanuts, and then…. I saw it… a “Joy Box”. The Lord had provided clarity. I knew my word, chosen uniquely for me, by the Lord, for the next 12 months; JOY! Joy, the complete circle of thankfulness, gratitude and blessing.

imageWhat’s a joy box? A joy box is a box of gifts with envelopes carefully prayed over, selected and wrapped for the recipient.  The Joy Box Ministry volunteers, often, do not know the person for whom they are preparing a box. They pray over each selected piece trusting that God is doing the choosing.  In the introduction letter it states, “This is a little J.O.Y. box. It comes because we care. Each present is wrapped in love and sent to you with prayer. The letter goes on giving instructions on how to enjoy the J.O.Y. box to the fullest.  The letter ended with a special prayer for my hubby and I as the recipients.

Tomorrow, we will begin to open our gifts of joy.

Have you thought about choosing a word for a year?  You may desire to choose your birthday as the start.  Or, like I’ve done for many years, choose your word at the end of the year. The end of 2016 is approaching.  It won’t be long before the Thanksgiving table will be set with the festivities of Christmas soon to follow.

By the way I also choose a verse for the year too. Not sure of my verse yet. Will keep ya posted.

If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment. I will answer; promise.

More to come,
Sandra

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds…” James 1:2

https://purpleprincessreflections.wordpress.com/2015/12/31/moving-forward-reflecting-on-the-past/

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

8 thoughts on ““Box of Joy””

    1. Wow! Thank you Margaret. To have you stop by my blog and take time to comment is a special gift. Loved your book, “Fight Back With Joy”. One of the best. But then I’ve loved em all 🙂
      You are an inspiration too many; especially this gal. Thanks again for being the you, you are!

      Hugs
      Joyfully yours
      Sandra

      Like

  1. The JOY box sounds very interesting. I also like having a word and/or verse for the year….and standing on one or both of them for the year. I also like the way Linda said “joyfully yours” at the end of her note. I may do that too!! Thank you, Sandra….and Linda for the “boosts!”

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

