Who’s Fire?

My first inkling I was giving fuel to Satan’s fire hit me a couple weeks ago.  I posted yet another request for prayer on Facebook; one of many requests asking friends to pray for healing for my hubby.  In spite of all those praying, and they were many, my hubby continued to experience horrific pain.  It seemed all my Facebook posts, were please pray, no change… more prayer needed, still here in this mess, oh my hit with another challenge, etc. Not too many praises; only SOS’s. When I did post a praise report, things got worse (fancy that). I became hesitant to even hint at praise out of fear of the next hit; and we’ve had many this year. The more I continued to ask my friends to pray, with no relief in sight, the more discouraged I became. Fear took root; would pain become my hubby’s constant companion and new way of life? The question, “God, where are you?” close to becoming my new mantra (not that I have one mind you. But, I was developing one). I could feel depression taking hold. Were others feeling discouraged too as they faithfully prayed with no apparent answers? Then…. “light” gave me clarity; I was literally providing kindling to Satan’s fire. Immediately I removed the continuing prayer requests from Facebook and posted I was no longer going to add fuel to his fire. Absolutely not!!! Not only was I not going to allow him to discourage, I was going to be intentional in my writing.  He had silenced and distracted me long enough! Ah, but there’s more.

I fall asleep listening to a religious station. A few nights ago a pastor shared how he’d become obsessed with the darkness; in reference to the evil we see all around us today; in our communities, our cities, our state, our country and the world. He would arise each Ruh Rohmorning asking the question, “What amount of darkness will fill my life today?”  What a sad way to start the day; I thought. I’d had enough of darkness lately and I certainly didn’t want it to be the last thing on my mind before falling asleep. Just as I hit off, I hear, “I would arise each morning and ask the question, what will I be hit with today”.  Ruh-Roh (said in my bestus Scooby Doo voice), I need to stop asking a similar question; “I wonder what will come our way today?” Not in the positive but always said in the negative, meaning, what will we be hit with today? Ruh-Roh, Ruh-Roh, Ruh-Roh!

When you enter into a dark room and flip on the light; darkness disappears. Darkness cannot fill the space the light possesses. It’s the same in our spiritual battle. When light (Jesus) enters in, darkness (Satan) must leave. It was time to turn on the light.

I’ve new questions to ask; “I wonder how God will choose to bless me and those I love today?” and, “Whose fire am I fueling?” I want to fan, to place kindling on the fire of passion and purpose placed within by the Lord; not the fire of the enemy who seeks to defeat and discourage.

Until next time
Sandra

“The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.” Psalm 119:130

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows”. James 1:17

As a follower of Jesus I can expect to do combat with the Devil. He may even win a few battles but he will absolutely not win the war! (More on combat on my Through the Bible blog coming soon).

 

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

