Kindness… what a thought

I’ve a heavy heart today. Honestly, I don’t understand why we cannot be kind to one another, no matter our race, color of our skin, or religious beliefs. I can’t help but wonder if we’re heading for a war of American against American? The Civil War in the mid to late 1800’s cost the lives of over 600,000 men. Our country is in such turmoil and division indicating if something doesn’t change quickly, we may very well find ourselves, once again divided in war. A war today which would pit brother against brother would conceivably cost the lives of millions. My heart believes no one wants war to be the final outcome. People only desire change.

Wouldn’t it be awesome if we’d settle our differences without the shedding of innocent lives? Life could take on a whole different meaning, whether we believe in Jesus, or not, if we’d follow his words found in the book of Matthew, “You have heard that it was said, ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth’. But I [Jesus] say to you that you must not oppose those who want to hurt you. If people slap you on your right cheek, you must turn the left cheek to them as well. When they wish to haul you to court and take your shirt, let them have your coat too. When they force you to go one mile, go with them two. Give to those who ask, and don’t refuse those who wish to borrow from you.”  

forgiveYes we have injustices in our world which need to be set correct. Let’s change those injustices through positive and constructive ways. Retaliation against innocent people won’t bring resolution. It only delivers more pain and hurt. Why can’t we strive to find a different way? Perhaps the answer is found in the word, strive. It takes work to find another way. It takes setting aside my rights, your rights, to find a better way. It involves compromise, understanding, patience and a resolve to do what’s best for others before self.

It would be life-changing if instead of retaliating in anger we discovered a way to defuse the situation and came together extending forgiveness. If instead of reacting we walked in another’s shoes for a while… responding to bring about change peacefully, rather than reacting through hate; just think of the possibilities.

“Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.
With God as our Fatherlove-never-fails-source
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now.
With every step I take
Let this be my solemn vow.
To take each moment
And live each moment
With peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth,
And let it begin with me.

It begins one person at a time. Are you ready to make a difference?

Until next time,
Sandra

Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. Ephesians 4:31-32

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “Kindness… what a thought”

  1. Well said. Gentle and true. I was saying similar words (the Civil War parts) to a friend yesterday. Sometimes I think our country is almost unrecognizable. I’m grateful none of this is a surprise to God. When no one seems trustworthy, He always is. God bless you today Sandra! xo

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

