24hrs, 30 days, 6 months…

Faith bible art journal24 hours… How would you spend the last 24 hours of your life? Not too many of us spend time thinking about such things. I know I certainly don’t. If we only had 24 hours, obviously those 24 hours would be lived differently. We’d probably be in a frenzy trying to get all of our personal finances in order. Then we’d spend whatever time we had left talking, hugging, sitting close, sharing those last intimate moments with our loved ones. That’s exactly what Christ did following the Last Supper. I’ll talk more about that final night on my other blog Through The Bible Together, later this week.

What if we knew we only had 30 days, or 6 months, or one year? Would you live life differently? How? I’m guessing we wouldn’t put off getting financial and last papers in order. By the way having one’s “affairs” in order is one of the “bestus” gifts you can give to your family. (I believe in this so much I might even be convinced to do a blog series with tips and tricks. Anyone interested?) If we only had months, would we toss our bucket list aside, or work diligently to fulfill those dreams? Would we make amends to family and friends with whom we’ve become estranged, for one reason or another? Would we ask for forgiveness from those we’ve hurt? Would we find forgiveness for those who’ve hurt us? Would we release our anger and bitterness at wrongs committed? If we only had months would we seek out the truth about heaven or hell and the possibility of life after death? If we only had 30 days, 6 months, or a year what items would become priority? One thing I know for sure, I wouldn’t put off till tomorrow what I could accomplish today.

I’m an avid genealogist. Sometimes the only information I have on a person is the information found on a grave marker. I wonder, “What was their life like?” “As a young child were they loved?” “What were some of their best moments?” “What legacy did they The dash poemleave?” And most importantly I wonder, “Did they know the Lord?” Will I have the opportunity to meet them in eternity?” I discovered one of my relatives had been very active within the church. I wondered, did he pray for his great-grandchildren not yet born? Could I have become a Christian because some of my relatives prayed for their future generation? Just thinking about the possibility of a great-great-grandfather or grandmother praying for a great-granddaughter, they have yet to meet, brings comfort to this girl’s heart. That’s what I call a legacy.

What legacy will you leave? I think about the legacy I’ll leave from time-to-time, but never too seriously. Perhaps it’s time. My legacy, I pray, will be twofold. The 1st is when I meet Jesus face-to-face (and I will someday… we all will) I hope he stretches out his arms in welcome and says, “Princess, you made a difference in the world for me… Well done good and faithful one”. The 2nd, but not completely separate from the 1st, is to know that because  I lived others came to know the Lord I serve. At the very least, will choose to explore the possibility, the reality, of Jesus.

Our days are numbered. No one lives on earth forever. Every day’s a gift. Today, I’m committing to live my life as if the next 30 days are to be my last. And then the next 30 days, and the next, and …. Who knows I may not have 30 days. Then again, I might have 30 years. Only the Lord knows the day and the hour. Not totally sure what this will look like in practical everyday reality. I have no doubt you’ll hear more as I journey into a new Season-of-Life.

Until next time,
Sandra

As a result of my commitment I will be changing up my blogging schedule. I will once again devote time to my 2 other blogs which I allowed life to derail. Time to get back on track.   I do hope you’ll check them out.

https://knockingatheavensdoor.wordpress.com
https://throughthebibletogether.wordpress.com

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

7 thoughts on “24hrs, 30 days, 6 months…”

  1. It’s interesting that my thoughts have been along the same lines. Thank you for what you shared. It confirms what I need to do and to say. Appreciate what you share. And, yes, I would be interested in a blog of tips and tricks on getting affairs in order. Many, if not all, would get a lot out of it!

    Like

  2. SANDRA, THESE OLD EYES CAN NOT MAKE OUT THE POEM ON YOUR BLOG. IS IT POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO SEND ME A COPY SO I CAN READ IT? KATHIE

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

