Prayer Conundrum

There’s much I don’t comprehend regarding God and prayer. I’ve observed many prayers answered with a yes. I’ve witnessed healings which one could only describe as miraculous; meaning divine intervention had to take place to achieve the final outcome. Personally, I’ve experienced praying for finances; wondering how we would make it through the month. Only to discover our money stretched to the end of the month and beyond. On paper our finances were in the red. Yet every month we made it through – prayer made a difference. I’ve seen God answer prayers in every situation of life; from easy-peasy to matters of life and death. I’ve even heard God’s Holy Spirit speak to me in prayer… Awesome!

Yes, there’s times when God says no to my requests. How do I know the answer’s no? That’s hard to explain. It’s as if God’s Spirit links with my spirit and my soul knows the answer. There are times when the answer is not forthcoming. Those are hard Faith bible art journaltimes. In those times I wonder is the answer no and I’m just not hearing, or is it wait, there’s work to be done before I answer this prayer. In those waiting days, do I keep praying? Do I pray off-and-on for the situation? Or, do I leave it in the Lord’s capable hands knowing I’ve prayed for the situation; God’s heard and in those moments simply say, “In your timing Lord I will trust”.  While prayer’s a mystery and often a balancing act, it’s also a huge blessing in my life. It’s through prayer I get to partner with God and the work he’s doing on earth. It’s through prayer I get to share in his interaction with others. It’s through prayer God reveals those little idiosyncrasies in my life, those attitudes and actions, which need to be tweaked to make me a better person. Prayer is definitely a conundrum.

In my previous blog I shared I’m fighting to recover from a virus which attacked my ear canals and sinuses. I’d hoped by now, 3 weeks into this journey, to be finding some relief. But alas, my voice still sounds like a creature from outer space invaded my voice box. I wouldn’t mind if it was at least sexy. My hearing’s less than optimal. By nightfall my throat is swollen and sore. Too put it succinctly, I’m miserable. Okay, it’s just a virus, it too will end. It’s just a matter of when, right?

As a woman who believes in God; who walks with him every day to the best of her ability (okay honestly, sometimes not to the best of my ability) and who believes in the power of prayer, why does God not say, “Sandra, I hear your prayer, I can take away your virus and bring healing to your body, and therefore I will”. Sometimes God does exactly that. And sometimes he doesn’t. I don’t know why or what motivates him to say yes, or no, or wait. I don’t need to know for he’s God and I’m not. I’ve learned in walking with the Lord, for many years, there’s a bigger picture. A picture puzzle, if you will, of which my life is only a piece of the complete picture.

Circumstances such as these and others allow me the opportunity to share my faith, my legacy of faithstrength and my weaknesses with others. I am reminded of the song, “I never promised you a Rose Garden”. There are many who believe that as a child of God our lives should be easy, without trials, without troubles or challenging situations. One day my life will be very much a Rose Garden, but not this side of Heaven. God did not promise his children a bed of roses here on earth; he did promise to never leave us nor forsake us. He promises no matter what valley or pit we find ourselves in, he will be there with us all the way. And that my friend makes all the difference in this life.

By the way, the devil has a field day with one’s mind when life sends us a curveball or 2, 3 or 4. He loves to get in there and say things like, “No one’s really praying for you, you know. God’s not answering your prayer because you’re not really his child. Or, if God really loved you…, or, you know God’s not real. If God’s real you would _______” (you fill in the blank). The devil wants us to feel defeated, isolated and alone. He wants us to doubt. His “soul” purpose is to drive a wedge between God’s children and God. The enemy tailors his accusations personally to each of us. He knows which phrases, which words, which doubts to place within our mind. Of course, the choice is ours.

Who will we choose to listen to? Now, that’s the question for the day.

“Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

6 thoughts on “Prayer Conundrum”

    1. You are welcome my friend. It’s hard to be vulnerable sometimes. Knowing it helps others, makes all the difference. You encouraged me today… Thank you.

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

