No Guarantees

Recent events have caused me, once again, to ponder the shortness, the brevity of life. We’ve had yet one more death this season. A family member was killed in a somewhat freak motorcycle accident. Life is like that; it’s here one minute and gone the next. Of course the family’s hearts are broken. The loss of a loved one is never easy. When a loved one dies suddenly thoughts and words, left unspoken, cannot help but run through one’s mind.

This is why I write today… to encourage all of you to say those words expressing your feelings towards those you love; those you care about. Those heartfelt tugs which we falsely believe we will have time to say. Time runs out for all of us. If you love someone pick up the phone and tell them. Text, email, use the old-fashioned stamp method; send a card, a note through the mail, or hire a sky-writer…. whatever; but don’t delay. Let them know they are cherished, they are loved, you are glad they’re a part of your life. Don’t let time, distance, and above all else don’t let misunderstandings or harsh words get between you. Life is too short. Life ends in the blink of an eye. We are not guaranteed tomorrow. We are not guaranteed the next hour.

I can’t help but wonder what life would look like if I actually truly lived like my next breath might be my last. I surely will be pondering, chewing on this topic for awhile. I may even share some of my conclusions in upcoming blog posts. For now, I ask the question, “How would your life change?” “How would my life change”? For starters, I IMG_0412wouldn’t worry so much about company coming and seeing my house in disarray. I would choose to play more, spend more time with my children and grandchildren. I’d spend quality time with my husband, not just living in the same house, he in one room, I in another. I’d watch more football with him and do more of the things he enjoys. I’d spend more time studying the features of those I love. I’d memorize their smiles, the twinkles in their eyes when they’re up to no good; even the jaw line creases and twitches when they’re not happy. I would catch those and more as permanent photographs etching them in the recesses of my heart. I would live more in the present and less in tomorrow.

My friends and readers, in my previous blog I asked you to consider the possibility of life after death and to truly explore the reality of Heaven and Hell. Today, I pray you will consider this heartfelt plea too. Let the people in your life, those who mean something to you, let them know you are blessed by their presence. Let them know they’re a treasure in your life. Let them know they are special and loved.

No-one is guaranteed tomorrow.

Until next time
Sandra

Note: You may see advertising on this website. As this is a free site I have no control over the ads. I neither endorse nor recommend any product or ad.

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “No Guarantees”

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. T.hings can change in the blink of an eye and I do endeavour to tell those I care about that I love them. Every day. At least one I say it to many times a day. You and your family are in my thoughts.

    Like

  2. Sandra, I am sorry for your loss. Nothing is guaranteed in life is it? The only guarantees we have is that God is there for us and he will never let go of our hand. After reading your blog Sandra I felt God speaking to me to call my in-laws I hadn’t talk to them for a while. They are doing good and I will be seeing them in a week so thank you so much for reminding us that nothing is for sure except for the love of God.

    Like

  3. Sandra, I am sorry for your loss. Nothing is guaranteed in life is it? The only guarantees we have is that God is there for us and he will never let go of our hand.

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

