Abomination …. Word that wounds

I have an extremely heavy heart today.  A person recently shared, on someone else’s blog, her feelings of unworthiness.  She feels unloved, unwanted, and not worthy of God’s love; she used the words, “an abomination in his sight”.  She stated the message of abominable unworthiness came from family members and her church over the years. Typically, when I read the words church and abomination together, it’s homosexual related.

LOVE-love-36983825-1680-1050When will Christian’s stop judging and condemning others for their behaviors? It’s not our job! God did not call us to convict others of their sin,  nor be judge and jury.  He called us to exhibit loving kindness to each other.  To tell someone they’re an abomination to the Lord because of their lifestyle does not reflect kindness or love.  Yes, I know the passage.  “Do you know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God?  Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders, nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.”  The passages goes on to say much more but most stop there for to read further diminishes the point being made.

Nowhere in this passage, or others, does it state that because we accepted Jesus (became a Christian), all our “behavior changes” and we sin against the Lord no more. My life would look entirely different were that the case.  I mess up every day. It’s not about what I’ve done, past, present or future. What makes the difference?  I’ve accepted Jesus.  I believe he is the son of God who came to earth in human form reuniting my broken relationship with God.  Why would Jesus do such a thing?  Not because I’m evil, wicked,  or an awful person (which all may be true). He came out of pure love; His pure love.  He came to provide us life; an abundant life.  Not monetarily or materially, but spiritually.

While we’re on the subject… did you notice in the passage it talks about thieves, (ever taken something that didn’t belong to you? Ever gotten too much change back from a clerk and kept it?) The greedy, (do you share freely your financial blessings with others? Do you help someone who is in need or say, they could work why should I give them my hard earned money, orcondemnation quote similar statements?) Idolaters (have anything you hold near and dear to you… so precious it means more to you than life itself?) Slanderers (ever maligned a person, even just a little?) or swindlers (ever cheated just a little on your taxes?).  Check out Proverbs 6:16-19 which lists 7 things God finds abominable (haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers); homosexuality’s not among the list.  My-oh-my, sheds a different perspective, doesn’t it?  If it doesn’t provide you food for thought …. It certainly should.

Jesus calls us to encourage and to show love to one another. Love is patient, kind, does not envy, does not boast, and is not proud, rude or self-seeking. Love’s not easily angered, keeps no record of wrongs, does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

The 4 great love commandments of Scripture:

  • “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it;
  • “Love your neighbor as yourself”.
  • Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all will know you are my disciples, if you love one another”.
  • “Love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who despitefully use you and persecute you.”

Wow, if we just did these 4 things imagine how different our world would become. I’m reminded of one last Scripture passage, “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.  For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged. And with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.  Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?  How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite…. ” 

A person walked away from God as a result of others condemnation of her. How many others have done likewise?  Sadly, some commit suicide feeling they will never be good enough for God’s love.  My friends this is serious business. I surely have no desire to be responsible for someone’s turning away from God. Do you? If we are going to err, let’s err on the side of love not judgment.

May this be our prayer and desire

Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.
Amen.

Let’s choose to reflect God’s love towards others.

Until next time,
Sandra

love through God's eyesI pray God will open the door to her heart once more. I pray she will see herself through the eyes of God in order to know she is treasured and loved. I wish I knew her, so I could wrap my arms around her and tell her how very much she is loved.

References quoted

Proverbs 6:16-19
Matthew 22:35-39
Matthew 5:43-44
John 10:10
John 13:34-35
1 Corinthians 13:4-8
1 Corinthians 6:9-12
The prayer – St. Francis of Assisi

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

8 thoughts on “Abomination …. Word that wounds”

      1. I would like to speak privately. I sent you an email via your Contact Me page, but I’ve never used that on WP before, so I’m not sure it worked. Not sure how to get in touch otherwise.

        Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

