It’s Only a Breath in Time

This is a blog I wrote 2 years ago. It has been adapted slightly to today. This is one of my fav’s.  I love that it causes me to truly think about life and the gentle reminder we are not promised tomorrow. It’s also one of my shortest blogs.  I hope you enjoy.

“… Each man’s life is but a breath.”

2 years ago I was reading Randy Alcorn’s book on Heaven for an online group. Today I’m rereading it as part of my research for my new blog, http://KnockingatHeavensDoor.wordpress.com. In the introduction, Randy gives a wonderful example of what it means to have our life but a breath. “Picture a single breath escaping your mouth on a cold day and dissipating into the air. Such is the brevity of life here.”

I tend to think this life will last forever, yet I know that’s not true. What in my lifeBreathingwould change if I truly believed the concept and understood the depth of meaning which says my life here is but a breath; simply a moment in time?

Great question to ponder. How about you?

  • What in your life would change?

Would love to hear your thoughts – please leave a comment.

“Show me, O Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Each man’s life is but a breath.” Psalm 39:4–5

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

