The Birth of a Writing Career

Hi everyone,

As you know I’m taking some time away from blogging.  During the next 6 weeks I will re-post some of my favorite posts written over the years.  Several friends requested I share my story of how I got started writing. Therefore, today I honor their request. The “Why” of Purple Princess Reflections.  Enjoy!

writers-block“I never really aspired to become a writer.  In school I despised hearing a teacher speak the words, “Take out a piece of paper and your pencil…” signifying a writing project was expected. One day, while crossing the desert, heading for California, the desert previously brown and dry was now lush and green; words filled my head.  Out of nowhere I was consumed with the urge to write.  I grabbed napkins, receipts, anything I could find to write upon and wrote my first devotion. Shortly after that divine inspiration, I began writing short devotions for a monthly newsletter published by the church where I was employed. It wasn’t long before I felt the Holy Spirit nudging me to start a blog.  I resisted for many months. I simply did not see myself as a writer.  Soon, however, “Purple Princess Reflections” was born.

Why Purple Princess? It had nothing to do with a “Diva Syndrome” or anything similar. I am a child of the King, Jesus, which makes me a princess for all eternity. A princess of the best kind.  I love purple!  Purple and all shades thereof have been my favs since, well, forever! This blog is a sharing of thoughts, ideas, and life, as I, a simple (although my husband would say, “complicated”) woman walks and reflects on her life with God in every day. The title Purple Princess Reflections seem to fit the bill.

As you peruse the pages of my blog, my hope and prayer is you will find something of value for your life; a nugget to share, a word of encouragement, an idea, or a place to share your thoughts.  I welcome comments and questions of all kinds. The world we live in is harsh and often unfriendly.  We need a friend with whom we can travel in our journeys.”

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called today…,” Hebrews 3:13a

Below is the actual devotion written for the church newspaper which became the catalyst launching my writing career.

Ever wonder about the desert we live in.  It’s often hot, dusty, dry, parched, and thirsting for water.  Wow! give it a little drink of water and it flourishes into to something beautiful.  I was struck by that thought recently while driving across the desert heading to California. A trip made many times to see our mom battling terminal cancer.  Many times in these past months the desert’s flora has looked dry, parched and brittle  However this time it was green, lush appearing, displaying forth beauty for all to see! What made the difference between this week and 2 weeks ago? Water! Life breathing, life giving water!

bookThen it hit me….. My Spiritual life is much like the desert.  Oftentimes it’s dry, dusty and barren; not producing much growth. Yet, when I spend time drinking in the life giving water of God’s Word, I experience change.  My life is greener; I am kinder to others, gentler with my words, and more encouraging to those with whom I come in contact. Not only do I experience growth which God may use to bless others, I also experience refreshing water for me.  Often my days, perhaps like yours, feel dry and parched as a result of stress, trials, or…. just plain old life!  When I go to God’s stream I am cooled, refreshed and restored.  I’m calmer, more at peace. I find strength to face the day, or days ahead.  The desert must wait for rain to fall. We, as God’s sons and daughters have a special invitation. We may step into His stream at any time. God promises it will be cool and refreshing. He promises we will find rest for our weary souls. If we stay awhile, we will walk away with renewed energy and strength. May you be encouraged to step into His stream and enjoy the cool, refreshing, life breathing waters of His Word!

Never again will they hunger; never again will they thirst. The sun will not beat upon them, nor any scorching heat. For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; he will lead them to springs of living water. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Revelation 7:16-17 (NIV)

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

