What I do …. Scary

I shudder when I read the following verse found in the book of James, “Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.” 

Launching a new blog finds me, once again, searching for answers, direction and clarity in purpose. The words judged more strictly quietly reverberating in my mind.  Writers, like teachers, impart knowledge and potentially wield influence. I’m teaching and spreading influence, not through a formal classroom, but via the internet. The written word my medium of influence. Anyone who reads what I’ve written, a potential student.

The words, Judged more strictlypresume… teachers…. resemble flashing neon signs. To presume means to take for granted something exists or is the case. “Lord, have I presumed too much”, I ask.  I mess up so much; do I desire to run the risk of stricter judgment? Not really.

The passage goes on to say, “Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire….

The only response I could muster, “Oh my!” Could my writing have an adverse effect on another person? Once again, my eyes fell upon the words, “Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark.” fire-breatherA great forest set on fire by a small spark…  That would be me, a little spark hardly worth mentioning.  What damage could I do? Yet, there right in front of me, God’s Word states, “the tongue also is a fire”. My body grew more tense as the realization slowly sinks into my brain. I will be held to stricter accountability as I speak, through the written word.

God had my attention! He impressed upon me the need to follow Him; to walk the path set before me.  I can influence positively; to do so God must be the captain of my ship. I must abide in Him and allow Him to steer. If I allow him to be at the helm, always, I have nothing to fear. Whew! Good news!

Yes, my words possess the power to influence; bad or good. I’ve no desire to start a fire of influence which God never intended.  Here’s to being a tiny spark of influence for good! An influence for the present and the future. The goal to influence the lives of others for eternity.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “What I do …. Scary”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

