I’m in Control of this One

I’m a slow learner!  But, perhaps, maybe I’m finally getting the picture.  Lord only knows. All this time I blamed a host of physical symptoms on early aging and would often be heard to say, “I’m old you know”. Here’s the good news I’m not old! Yea! The flip side…  I have an autoimmune disease, or two; neither the best news nor the worst. There are currently 80 different types of autoimmune diseases and approximately 1 person out of every 100 has an autoimmune disease; I’m in good company as the saying goes. Researchers have always known one’s gene-pool plays a role in one’s predisposition to an autoimmune disease. Years and years of research now reveal environment and diet play an even greater role. Environment and diet a 75% factor; the genes with which we’re born only 25%. I’m realizing, a little late, just how much control I possess in determining the healthiness of my “golden years”.

Yes, I’m aware many who eat well, their entire lives, get diagnosed with major or chronic health issues. Information gathered over many years shouldn’t be pooh-poohed. Statistics reveal favorable outcomes for those who choose a healthy lifestyle. The confusion arises when experts can’t agree on what a healthy lifestyle looks like. I’m pretty certain we shouldn’t allow the food industry to determine what’s healthy. After all, they’re the ones who place ingredients in the mix which set our taste buds craving all the wrong things. They’re the ones who place those enticing ads on television causing us to salivate at the mere mention of their product. Remember Eve in the Garden of Eden… she fell victim to the enticement of the enemy and look where it got her 🙂 🙂 🙂  Medical scientists and nutritionists, I believe attempt to give the public accurate information. The challenge lies in the collection of data. Too often it takes years for the proper amount of collected data analysis to prove the rightness or the wrongness of how a food interacts within the human body.

What’s a body to do? This gal’s going to do the research on GMO’s, food sensitivities, etc. I will keep a food diary for the month of August charting the foods I eat; how I feel both physically and mentally. I will read and learn as much as I am able about my autoimmune disorder.  I’m not going to keep pushing through and choosing to not listen to my body… just the opposite.  I will learn to listen to my body. God created a magnificent machine in the human body.  If I listen, truly listen, like a fine tuned running automobile, it will tell me when something is out of sync.  When rest is needed – I’m resting. When my Dont-give-upresources are low, I’m cancelling appointments. When I discover a food is affecting me, I will do my utmost best to give it up. I’m a lot like Eve when it comes to food… this ain’t gonna be easy!

I’ve always been there to help when help was needed.  I’ve been a person others could count upon. If I said I would be there, or I would do something, I was and I did. I cannot count on being that person any more. I cannot depend on my body coming through for me. Simply sharing these words fills my soul with sadness. I don’t like this change in life.  I don’t like that I cannot be counted on anymore.  I don’t like that I must add the caveat, “depending on how I’m doing that day” when accepting an invitation or extending an offer of help. Others do not always understand.  They try, I know. I know I tried.  Until I found myself in similar shoes, I didn’t comprehend the roller coaster of energy and ability. I didn’t understand the fatigue and the waves of emotion which often leaves one feeling helpless, without purpose and not much use to anyone; including self. One day you have energy and physical ability to do and the next day, or the next hour, or sometimes the very next minute…. you don’t. Some days your mind hums on all cylinders and other days it goes on vacation and leaves you behind. Fortunately I don’t have many of these days, but I know some, for whom, the above is more the norm than simply a bad day or week.  I have a fresh understanding and perspective. I certainly hope with that perspective comes a healthy dose of grace to extend when needed.

Most importantly, I will pray asking for guidance and wisdom.  God created me.  He knit me together in the womb.  Who else knows better what my body needs to run at peak performance in the autumn of life. I desire to live life to the fullest; experiencing the life abundant promised in Scripture and above all else, may my very presence on this earth glorify The Lord.

Until next time,
Sandra

Psalm 139:13-14 For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.”

John 10:10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

5 thoughts on “I’m in Control of this One”

  1. Hello …..Got here from your Knocking on Heavens Door that came to my email. Wanted to say hello and say this is me everyday. Now you can understand my woes. Its true I can be full of energy one minute and the next minute I need to get to a quiet place. So I just wanted to comment that there are many out there who walk the same path. Learning to take care of yourself and listen to your body is key to feeling better. Just recently returned to my doctor as I have been having more bad days than good again so we are starting back from day one….. so frustrating but I know what I need to do and what worked last time so I have to get diligent again and start all over. Its a process. A. Never ending. Process. Love and Hugs!

    Like

    1. Sonya, sorry to hear of your physical difficulties. As you can see you are not alone. Glad you found me once again. Keep-on-keeping-on and don’t be a stranger. I’ve missed you. Thanks for sharing your struggle.

      Like

    1. Hi, I went to your blog site and read your posts. You surely can relate to my struggles. One day at a time and often that day is moment-by-moment. Thank you for taking time to comment and to share your struggle. Said a prayer for you today.

      Hugs, Sandra

      Like

  2. I know how hard this will be for someone like you who is ALWAYS there for others. You’ve written a good plan. I will pray with you that you can walk that road. How else can I help?

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

