Its Time

In all my years as a blogger I’ve shied away from strong controversial matters. I write to share my life as a simple woman, who experiences successes and challenges, as she walks with the Lord.  I write in the hope that my sharing will encourage others to keep-on-keeping on. It’s time I stopped shying away from controversial topics. After all aren’t they a part of everyone’s everyday life; they’re surely a part of mine? In my blog post this past Monday on http://thoroughthebibletogether.wordpress.com, I was open, honest and vulnerable in sharing I struggle, as a Christian, in how to respond to others when questioned about my stance on the recent Supreme Court Ruling. Many Christian’s have responded, by quickly stating homosexuality and the gay lifestyle is a sin which leads to hell. May I take a moment to point out all sin would lead to hell were it not for God’s forgiveness, love and grace. I’m not totally surprised by their impassioned responses … but then again….

I admit I’m confused how one minute I hear compassion and understanding for a person coming from a Christian friend, and in the next breath I hear judgment and condemnation for another, without any thought of extending grace or forgiveness.  My heart is burdened, truly burdened, by sunsetrecent comments I’ve heard and read. Last Monday evening I stood outside watching the sun set in the west. The sky was beautiful with all shades of oranges, reds and of course purples. It’s Monsoon Season where I live and the sky was filled with a wide variety of clouds, shapes and swirls. It was as if God had taken his paint brush and painted every color of the rainbow. The variations in depth of color like nothing I had seen before. Even in all its beauty I could sense an underlying tension, as the storm clouds moved and shifted.  The gentle breeze gathering momentum, the sky becoming dissonant as evening faded into night. “Lord, this is how the world feels to me right now.  The Supreme Court decision has caused, once again, tension among fellow believers. Some Christian’s excited and rejoicing in the decision. Others feeling our Country’s heading to hell. Your gifts of love, forgiveness and grace are a beautiful thing; yet the hurtful and unkind words feel like the tension I see in the sky this evening.”  “God, I don’t understand why there’s discord all in your name. Satan must be having a celebration at such division.” “If  there’s no forgiveness, no grace for homosexuals then how is there grace and forgiveness for me?” “No, I’ve not participated in a gay/lesbian lifestyle; I surely have done many other sins. Sins which are listed in the same passage of Scripture, cited by Christians who are unhappy with the Supreme Court’s decision to allow Gay marriage.” ” Is this how you would have your children behave towards each other?”  “And what about those who have not come to know you as Lord, yet?  “What must they be seeing reflected in our lives; in my life?  What must they be feeling?” “Lord, why am I so burdened?” “Is this burden I carry from you?”  “What would you have me do?”

In Monday’s blog I stated I would respond in love and would seek God for the answers. That’s exactly what I am doing. I’m in the process of searching the Scriptures, going before God in prayer with the desire to humbly and sincerely follow and obey.  I am seeking in the truest sense of the word.

I hope I will always respond in love no matter the situation or circumstance.

Until next time,
Sandra

I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding.” Philippians 1:9 NLT

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

