Heaven or Hell… That is the Question

The past 9 months, or more I’ve contemplated the subject of Heaven and Hell, life after death and what that looks like, or will look like. I’m reading some interesting books on the subject. Currently I’m reading Erasing Hell, by Francis Chan. Francis examines Hell from a biblical, Scriptural perspective. He threw out any biases and preconceived ideas on the subject.hell_heaven He researched the topic as an investigator would search out truth. His book causes one to really ponder the possibilities of a life after death. 23 Minutes in Hell by Michael Wiese, an accounting of Michael’s dream/vision where he spent 23 minutes experiencing Hell. His descriptions are frightening to say the least. I’m only into the third chapter and am riveted. While one can neither prove the validity of his account, one cannot disprove it either.  One cannot discount one’s experience for it is their experience. A half-a-dozen other books, piled on my desk, await my perusal.  There’s much talk about Heaven of late on television, in magazines and other media. Not much said about the possibilities of Hell. I’m excited to dig into a somewhat ignored subject in today’s society. Over the next six months, beginning in July, I’m going to start a series on my other blog http://www.throughtheBibletogether.wordpress.com on this very subject; Heaven or Hell.

Currently, I wonder if attempting to blog a series on such a subject is a healthy choice.  Why?  Every time, I mean every time, I attempt to write and share some insights I have difficulties.  Difficulties with my health or some other challenge just seem to come out of nowhere. This week it has been technological/computer challenges.  I have physical challenges which make typing difficult and painful after short periods of typing. Therefore I use a program called Dragon, a voice activated speech recognition software, which types for me. Yesterday the headset I used for dictation simply stopped functioning. It was working fine, I got up from my computer to fetch one of my reference books and wham; without warning the mic would not record.  I got so frustrated trying to resolve the problem, I simply gave up and went and played a game called HayDay on my IPad.  What a waste of the rest of the day.

Today, I plugged in another high quality headset which I know to work great. I started blogging this article and guess what?  You guessed it.  It stopped functioning after a few minutes of working quite well.   Hmm… coincidence, faulty equipment, perhaps, but one cannot help wonder if unseen forces are at work. Despite health challenges, curve balls of life and painful fingers I will succeed… “Lord willing and the creek don’t rise”; as the saying goes..

Several years ago a group of friends and I read and dialoged our thoughts on the book, One Month to Live by Kerry and Chris shook. The premise being, “What if we only had one month to live”? I’m looking forward to rereading Kerry and Chris’s book in light of the subject I’m researching.  What if I have only the next 30 days?  What if you have only the next 30 days?  Remember, we are not guaranteed the next minute let alone the next 30 days; something to chew upon while contemplating, “Life after Death”.

researchDoes Hell exist?  Is there life after death? What about Heaven?  Do we simply cease to exist and lay forever dormant in earth until our bodies decay? Are we reincarnated as some believe? Or is resurrection a.k.a Heaven or Hell the final outcome?  What about Hell? Why would a loving God send anyone to such a place? All topics I hope to explore over the next 6 months.  Like Frances Chan this gal wants to know for herself and make up her own mind.  What will I discover?  Haven’t a clue, but look forward to sharing my journey with you.

Until next time,
Sandra

Have a question on this topic?  Feel free to email or comment below your questions.  I will be happy to research and discover if there is an answer.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Luke 11:9

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Heaven or Hell… That is the Question”

  1. I sure am glad that you will not let Satan stop you from writing these blogs. God never promised it would be easy but the rewards are out of this world. Keep it up gal, I love you. Kathie

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

