The Purple Princess Plan

Alkaline chartQuite a whirlwind these past few months; oh my… tests, tests and still more tests to come. Bottom line,   I need, note the word need, to change my eating habits. I started counting carbs back in November, fairly successfully, and then wham! Another curve ball came my way.  Disappointingly, feeling defeated, I gave up the few healthy changes I had made and regressed into my old eating patterns. Due to my current health challenges, my health coach recommended an Alkaline Diet.  The premise, choosing Alkaline foods over acidic foods reduces, if not eliminates, over stimulation of inflammation in one’s body.

Wanting to get back on track and take back control of my health, I inquired of others and researched a few diets via the internet; Dr. Weil’s Anti-The Daniel Planinflammatory Diet, The South Beach Diet, The Paleo Diet and a Gluten Free plan.  I settled on the Daniel Plan written by Pastor Rick Warren, and Doctors Daniel Amen and Mark Hyman.  I chose the Daniel Plan, in part, because it was based on 5 principles; Food, Fitness, Focus, Faith, and Friends.  All great principles! I especially liked the spiritual component.  When I got to page 80 and read the words, “This is a high-carbohydrate diet” my heart sunk. Somehow, or somewhere, I got the impression The Daniel Plan was an anti-inflammatory diet.  Nope, nada, zip! It’s a high carb diet which does not rank up there with diets more alkaline.   Now what to do?  I have recruited a whole group of gals to do the plan with me.  I can’t just say, “Oops, sorry”, can I? Never fear, there is always a plan B, or Plan P in me (P for purple 🙂 ).

After realizing my error, I prayed.  I’ve decided to allow the Holy Spirit to lead. Oh my, fancy that concept?  By researching a lot of basic food plans and diet plans I hope to develop a healthy eating plan tailor-made for me.  If in the process, I help others too, that’s a win-win for everyone!

Today the Purple Princess Plan is born; conceived that is. Birth will remain to be seen :).  The premise behind the Purple Princess Plan:

  • Pray-up before starting
  • Purposefully plan and calculate and choose what goes into your body
  • Praise God for the successes

PPP PlanI’m really excited to see where God leads.  One thing I know for sure, at the end of this journey I will be healthier.

Until next time,

Hugs,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

3 thoughts on “The Purple Princess Plan”

  1. Wow Purple Princess, I didn’t like the looks of the Daniel Plan anyway. I will be most interested to see what you come up with,with the help of the Holy Spirit. I won’t promise to try it although heaven knows I need it but I will promise to support you and try and encourage you all that I can. I pray your able to find a plan that you can live with as well as be healthy with it. Too extreme a plan will only be discouraging over time.
    Marian

    Like

    1. Marian,

      Being a few more weeks down the road with my healthy eating, I am finding I like the Daniel Plan. Like all programs there are a few things I am adapting. I love the spiritual side of the plan presented by Pastor Rick Warren, especially. Give it a try. I think you may be pleased as well.

      Hugs

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

