“Frittering”

In a previous blog I shared about sorting through things, organizing and downsizing stuff inside my home. Over the weekend I decided to clean out my file cabinet. I quit my previous job a couple of years ago to solely work on my writing. I have hung onto things with the, “just in case mentality”. (Keeping things, because I might need them should I return to work, or… you know, just in case).

I came across a poem my mom sent many years ago after I became a Christian. A special gift and recognition of my mom’s acceptance of my new life. The poem written before personal computers existed, is nevertheless timeless and apropos to today’s technology. As I read, I could hear the Holy Spirit speaking to my heart. You see I’ve been frittering away my time, especially in the mornings, playing games with friends and watching reruns of Murder She Wrote and Colombo. I’m a morning person, therefore  frittering away “prime-time” is disobedience to God’s calling/leading in my life. I’m not saying downtime is bad. I’m saying I need to choose more wisely. I can choose what I do with my time. I can choose the best time period for downtime. My brain begins to shut down late afternoon, early evening. Nighttime, after dinner when dishes are done, shall be my choice.. (For all my game playing friends, don’t look for me in the a.m. as I will be about the business of writing. I look forward to our evenings together, as 23 Channelalways).

As you read this poem, insert whatever technology or activity would fit with your life. In other words, if spending hours on the computer rather than watching TV is your vice, insert the words my computer in place of TV. Perhaps it’s an activity, such as scrap-booking, genealogy research or solving puzzles, etc., which consumes your time. As a child of God, I am called to be a good steward of my time as well as my finances, giftedness and talents. Again, these things in and of themselves are not bad; in fact I rather enjoy scrap-booking and researching my family roots through genealogy. They only become a challenge when we spend our time doing these activities over those we feel God is calling us too. It’s all about a balanced life and godly priorities.

The 23rd Channel
The TV is my shepherd, my spiritual growth shall want.
It maketh me to sit down and do nothing for His namesake;
because it requireth all my spare time.
It keepeth me from doing my duty as a Christian;
because it presents so many good shows that I must see.
It restoreth my knowledge of the things of the world,
and keepeth me from the study of God’s word.
It leadeth me to the paths of failing to attend the services
and doing nothing for the kingdom of God.
Yea, though I live to be 100, I shall keep on viewing my TV as long as it will work,
for it is my closest companion.
Its sound, color and picture, they comfort me.
It presenteth entertainment before me,
and keepeth me from doing important things with my family.
Surely no good things will come of my life,
because my TV (electronic toys) offers me no time to do the will of God.

Author Unknown

After all these years (over 40) this poem is still a special gift. It will not be dumped into the unnecessary pile to be dispersed. It’s okay to keep some things for the pure pleasure of memories. (We will cover how to decide what to keep and what to send away in a future blog). God spoke to my heart through my moms’ gift and the poem is written in my mom’s handwriting; a little piece of her left here on earth. Should you come for a visit to my home, you will find this poem framed and sitting on my desk as a reminder of how much I was loved by mom and am loved by God.

Until next time,
Sandra

“We must work the works of him who sent me while it is day…” John 9:4a

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

5 thoughts on ““Frittering””

  1. How true, what a wonderful insight into how we do spend our time. Now I need to figure out how to put her words into practice and get away from that which draws me away from God and living as He wants us to.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. It’s an ever continuing balancing act. I’m sure you will discover the balance which best fits your life and walk with the Lord.

      Like

  2. Another good one. We all need this reminder of your mother’s letter. I also have a letter from my mother that I have kept. We all need to write a personal letter to our children. I did this a few years ago and have it for them to read after I am gone. Carol Smith

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

