‘KISS’ing for Senior’s

In a previous blog I shared my reason for downsizing is to leave my family a legacy of ease in dealing with all the “stuff” which will need to be dealt with once I die.

There is another reason. I’m in the “Fall Season” of life. As we age, enter those so called “Golden Years”, we need to change habits and lifestyles of living for safety, better health, and to reserve our energy for enjoying favorite activities. I don’t know about you, but as I age, I’m discovering it takes a whole lot more time and energy to accomplish tasks then it once did. I’m all about finding more time to spend doing what I love while maintaining a clean, potentially accident free, healthy, well managed home.

A few tips for “Kissing” – Keep It Simple Senior’s.

  • Minimum furniture – No unnecessary furniture makes cleaning easier and gives better clearance for getting around one’s home.
  • No throw rugs – People, for reasons I have not uncovered, tend to not pick up their feet when they age. Discarding throw rugs makes for a safer home environment; 1, 2, or more things less, to trip on or fall over. Trust me falls and the potential for broken bones should be avoided whenever possible.
  • Uncluttered kitchen counterClearing kitchen counter tops of all unnecessary items makes cleaning easier. We are more likely to clean and disinfect counters thoroughly and more often if we do not need to move and then replace a bunch of items.
  • Clearing tops off all shelves, the refrigerator top, dressers, coffee and end tables, bathroom and laundry counter tops, etc. makes cleaning easier and quicker. Remember we can’t take it with us when we die. Keep only those items which you really need (we will share more on removing beloved items in a later blog).
  • Put less used or seasonal items in those harder to reach places. Example: Pots and Pans used often should be on mid-height shelves and those used less frequently should be placed on harder to reach shelves. In so doing we alleviate the possibility of knee or back injuries due to improper bending, stretching or reaching. The less you need to struggle to reach an item by bending or stretching the less likely you are to experience an injury.

For those of you who may be thinking, but bending, squatting and reaching is good exercise. I agree. We need to bend, squat, stretch, reach etc. to remain flexible. Injuries happen when we are not paying 100% attention to our activities. Keep flexible through a well thought-out, age appropriate and daily exercise routine. Cooking, cleaning, even getting dressed, etc., are tasks we often do without forethought, somewhat mindlessly. Before you know it, we bend over in a hurry to grab a pan, a shoe, an article of clothing or some other item on a bottom shelf or over reach getting to an upper shelf… and bam! Something snaps and we soon discover we are in a world of hurt. We incur an injury which may require numerous trips to doctors or physical therapists, even surgery, and will most likely lead to unplanned, expensive medical bills; not to mention a loss of independence. Let’s do all we can to avoid these scenarios.

Until next time,
Sandra

“Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

3 thoughts on “‘KISS’ing for Senior’s”

  1. Just read your article. This is a good one. When are you going to start getting rid of things? Also, when are you going to downsize? When you get to be my age, 75, you will really want to down size. Also, glad you are going to be part of CBS in leadership. You will be good. God Bless you.

    Like

    1. My friend, I have already begun. I delivered a trunk full of goodies to Goodwill a couple weeks ago. Thanks for your encouraging words. Perhaps I should explain my concept of downsizing. Right now downsizing means inside my home; removing most of the unnecessary/unneeded items. Making the inside of our home, streamlined and more comfortable from an energy use (mine) and ease of movement, safety, etc. Less items in the home mean less for others to disperse after I leave earth, as well. Then we will work on the garage and laundry storage area. That will need to wait for cooler weather this fall. Once this is all accomplished – the goal is by the end of the year, we, my hubby and I are considering moving to a smaller home. However, perhaps once the inside etc., is streamlined we may not feel the need for smaller in square footage. Time will tell. Hopefully this clears up my strategy.

      I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment. It warms this gal’s heart and encourages me to keep on writing.

      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

