Because I Love You – Downsizing/Organizing Our Home

Having an organized, orderly and uncluttered home refreshes my soul. Due to my injury last year my organizing/downsizing plan was once again put on hold.  It’s time to get back on track. For the next several Thursdays I will share tips, and hints on having an organized, clutter free home. First, let me share, my, why.

I listened to a friend share the nightmare of disposing of her mother’s home, following her death. My friend shared how all the time, energy and emotion it took to deal with the myriad of paperwork, furniture, photos, household goods, craft supplies, etc., took its toll on her health. The grief and loss in losing her mom was difficult in-and-of itself. Finding the strength to deal with the removal of belongings and stuff representative of her mom’s life, among her grief was almost too much. As she shared I began to think about my own life. I realized when I, or my husband and Office Shelves OrganizedI, leave earth someone will need to dispose of our home in its entirety.  Upon returning home, my heart grieved as I looked around the rooms; so much stuff, so, so much… If the Lord called me home on that day the mess I‘d have left for my loved ones was simply unacceptable. The process of downsizing and organizing began. I’ve had a few setbacks in my journey of downsizing, but each successful step I’ve taken brings me one step closer to the finish line.

We begin the Organizing/Downsizing Plan by answering the question why. Why do I desire to be more organized? Do I really have too much stuff? Am I ready? Am I committed to begin giving away, throwing away, etc., keeping only that which serves a comfortable, loving, organized lifestyle? Does it matter who will be taking care of my belongings once I leave earth? Do I care what happens to my things? If you answered yes to any of the questions above, then having a purpose, a goal, a picture of the legacy you wish to leave your loved ones will make hanging in through the tough, slow, tedious, set-back times easier.

I’ve shared with you my purpose for downsizing; it’s a part of my legacy plan. Its a part of my gift of love to loved ones left behind.  Why might you want downsize and organize?

Until next Thursday,
Sandra

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:19-21

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

3 thoughts on “Because I Love You – Downsizing/Organizing Our Home”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

