How come? How come, Lord?

I’m very frustrated today. As a Christian I believe in God wholeheartedly. As a believer in Jesus Christ, I believe God’s got my back, no matter the situation. I believe in God’s ultimate power to heal. And yet, as I write, I have a friend who received a rather disturbing diagnosis and as a result will undergo a very serious and potentially risky surgery. She went to the ER and was admitted to a local hospital. She has since been transported to a hospital about an hour away. My friend will have no opportunity to go home and prepare anything. She is a dear lady who has walked with Jesus for many a year; probably more years than I’ve been breathing. She has served Jesus with her whole heart and has a strong faith. I lay in bed with tears flowing and my heart crying, “How come, Lord?” “How come?” Somehow, this just doesn’t seem right.

faith quoteGod’s Word tells us there will be trials in our lives, and we should count them all joy. Joy? How can one count my friend’s current situation as joy? There was a part of me wanting to cry out, “Lord, we serve the Creator of the universe. We serve the Lord of Lord and King of Kings; the Great Physician, the Almighty Healer. Shouldn’t this count for something? Why on earth must we go through hard difficult, painful trials? It seems like the children of God should receive some earthly benefit and not need to struggle so much. The whole time my heart was crying for my friend, a voice inside was saying, “Sandra stop, the enemy is whispering in your ear; my child, you know the truth”.

I do know the truth. I know Jesus is with my friend. I know he is already preparing the path before her for his glory and her benefit. I know life on earth is simply a whisper, a mere breath. Our life on earth is merely a stop along the way to our eternal home. In many ways, it’s the prep area where we learn and discover all we need to know about the journey and our final destination. It’s where we are prepared spiritually, as a bride to meet her groom. When I keep my focus, in the eternal, in the heavenly, the understanding comes. When I allow the voice of Satan to whisper thoughts in my ear, such as, “You think you’re a child of God? You think God even cares? If God cared you wouldn’t be undergoing such trial; neither would your friend!” The enemy, Satan, uses 2 powerful weapons to derail God’s children; fear and doubt. You see, when I began thinking, how come? How come, Lord? I let fear reign and I doubted God’s faithfulness. Yes, my heart hurts for my friend’s, current situation. But I know… I know beyond any shadow of a doubt she is not alone! God is with her all the way and so are those of us who love her.

We all have yucky stuff. The Bible says the rain falls on the just and on the unjust. Meaning, none of us are free from pain, from bad situations, or from illness, etc. As a child of God we never go the path alone; Jesus makes the difference.

By the way, it’s okay to lay our frustrations out at the feet of Jesus. Not literally of course, but metaphorically. It’s okay to cry out why? How come? God knows and understands. In the garden of Gethsemane before his arrest and ultimate dying on the cross, Jesus prayed, “Abba Father, everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I oh-lord-hear-our-prayer-joeray-kelleywill, but what you will.” Jesus knew what lay ahead and prayed, basically, for a plan B. All the while God knew plan A was best! Jesus understands 100%, our struggles. Like Jesus, we should take our situations to God in prayer, express our fears, our doubts, etc. and then surrender are will to God’s in the midst of the situation.

In crying out and sharing my doubts, my fears, and my heart with God, I received peace. The kind of peace which makes no sense humanly, yet is given freely by the Holy Spirit. I still wish my friend didn’t have to undergo what she is about to undergo. I know one greater than I am is in the midst and taking ultimate care of my friend. For as much as I love my friend, it cannot compare to how much Jesus loves my friend.

Until next time,
Sandra

 “that ye may be the children of your Father who is in Heaven. For He maketh His sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.” Matthew 5:45

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

1 thought on “How come? How come, Lord?”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

