My Friend

I’ve been thinking a lot about friendship these past few days; about my friendship with God, his son Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. Again, God’s timing tickles my heart and causes me to smile. Today, as I contemplated what to write, I came across a mishmash of my thoughts on a variety of topics, on pages obviously ripped from a notebook. Notebook scrapsThese “little scraps” were destined for the trash bin. Among the pile I discovered 2 lists I thought worthy of sharing with my friends and readers. The first titled, “Jesus, My Friend”, a list of 7 Bible verses written to remind me Jesus cares. The other list titled, “Developing My Friendship with God”.

Developing a friendship with God begins as I draw close.  In the book of James, God’s word tells me, “If I draw close to God, He will draw close to me”. This verse has certainly been true in my life. Much of life is about choices. I’m as close to God as I choose to be! Friendships do not happen by accident; not human ones or spiritual ones. It takes time, energy, desire and an intentional choice to invest in the relationship.

Developing My Friendship with God:

  1. Be honest with God (remember God always acts in my best interest).
  2. Choose to obey God in faith.
  3. Value what God values (friends of God tell their friends and others about God).
  4. Desire friendship with God above all else; a.k.a. Crave God!

As I write, a question pops into my head, “Am I, as close to God as I desire? Perhaps, you too might ask the same question. If we’re not as close as we desire, what practical steps could I, could you, take today which would draw us into a more intimate, closer relationship? Do we need to spend more time, every day, reading God’s word, the Bible? Perhaps we read fairly regularly, but we are not in any kind of Bible study with other believers. Our relationship grows deeper when we spend time getting to know our friend. We understand more about his character when we study God’s word and experience Jesus interaction, both in our life and those of other believers. My choice, will be to spend more time in nature, chatting with my best friend; having dialogue while enjoying his creation in my surroundings. Keeping in mind conversation is two-way. I must spend time listening.

I rewrote, “Jesus, My Friend” in the back of my Bible today. We all go through tough times. I admit, I sometimes wonder is He still with me? Have I been so horrible He’s disowned me? I need gentle reminders of his love and commitment to me; perhaps you do too.

Jesus My FriendJesus My Friend:

  1. Is accessible“the Lord is near to all who call on him.” Psalm 145:18
  2. Is faithful – “I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go. I will not leave you until I have done what I promised.” Genesis 28:15
  3. Is my guide “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths. I will guide them. I will turn the darkness into light before them and I will make the rough places smooth; these are the things I will do. I will not forsake you.” Isaiah 42:16
  4. Is my teacher and counselor“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go. I will counsel you and watch over you.” Psalm 32:8
  5. Never loses sight of me“If I rise on wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me; your right hand will hold me fast.” Psalm 139:9-10
  6. Knows me“Lord, you have searched me and know me. You know when I sit and when I rise. You perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely.” Psalm 139 1-4
  7. Corrects out of love“My child, don’t ignore it when the Lord disciplines you. Don’t be discouraged when he corrects you. The Lord corrects those he loves just as a father corrects the child in whom he delights” Proverbs 3:11-12

Do you have a special verse which reminds you of God’s love?  Would love for you to share it by leaving a comment.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “My Friend”

  1. Hi Sandra. Just read your blog and really enjoyed what you wrote. In Proverbs 3:5 & 6 says “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding and in all ways acknowledge him and he will guide your path.” I always try to remember to do this instead of me trying to do things by myself. It has always been my favorite verse. He is always there to help us if we let him. It is so very important to read his words in the bible. It makes us more aware to ask him things and he will answer by his scriptures if we seek them. Hope you get this message. Always look forward to your next blog. God Bless……

    Like

  2. Ouch, you have stepped on my toes. No that is not true you jumped on my toes. How did you know that this is what I needed to hear today? Keep the toe hurting blogs going. Kathie

    Like

    1. Kathie,

      I love your comments. Stepping on your toes was not my intention…. but its better then having them broken 🙂 Thanks for taking time out to reply, it is always an encouragement for me.

      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

