Why Not God?

How are you all doing in being filled with more gratitude this year? Several have shared they made gratitude boxes this year or dug out old ones. Others, perhaps, will fill a journal with their words of gratitude. Way to go!

Prayer, one of my words chosen by The Lord, for 2015 weighs heavy on my heart. My heart and my head tell me I’m going to be on a journey of discovery. I’ve felt for some time there had to be more to prayer than simply praying a “laundry list”  (more on “laundry lists” in an upcoming blog). I’m both excited and apprehensive about the path which I will be traveling. Apprehensive due to the realization the enemy has no desire for me, or anyone else, to discover the secrets and power prayer holds for the true believer. Personally, I’ve experienced the power of prayer; I’ve had a taste and I desire more. Not for selfish reasons, No, I desire more because in those moments I experienced the power of God and felt closer to the Lord than ever before.

In “chewing” upon the subject of prayer, the Lord has impressed upon me several dynamic thoughts. Notice I said dynamic, not necessarily new; dynamic because they’re powerful if acknowledged, practiced and carried through. Making prayer a priority, setting aside time above everything else in life is key. Having a complete understanding of prayer, having all knowledge at my fingertips and all the skill the Holy Spirit can impart, yet, not making time for prayer will derail me from the path. Passion for His presenceRemember, Satan, the enemy, absolutely does not desire me, or you, to possess a good prayer life. Having a strong prayer life means power to defeat his interaction in our lives. If my prayer life is weak or non-existent, Satan is able to derail my efforts to reflect Christ and possibly make a difference in the lives of others. Making prayer a priority – making time to pray is key.

I can provide many excuses as to why I find it difficult to make time for prayer in my day-to-day life. But that’s exactly what those reasons would be… Excuses! I, like many of you, make time in our schedules and day to day life, for activities with friends, sports participation for kids, watching favorite television programs, playing favorite computer games, scheduling appointments for doctors, dentists, vets, car repairs and even doing activities for God. We find time for life’s personal wants, desires and obligations which we feel are important. Why not God? Why is my time with the Lord, not the first thing I schedule in my day, and the one thing I will not reschedule, or cancel? Why? Why? Why not God…

I believe the answer to this last question, “Why not God” is where I need to start. Perhaps, it’s where you need to start as well. My words say he is a priority, but my actions would say otherwise. As a Christian, a believer and a professed follower of Jesus Christ, the core question has got to be, “Why is spending time with Him not a priority”?

Until next time,
Sandra

“Taste and see that the Lord is good…” Psalm 34:8

Beginning next week, for those new to the faith, I will be starting a series on my Bible study blog http://throughtheBibletogether.WordPress.com on prayer. Answering questions such as, What is prayer? How do we pray? Why do we pray? Will God hear me if I’m not a Christian? And more

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

One thought on “Why Not God?”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

