Hindsight

The week between Christmas and New Year’s I go back through my journal for the year; sometimes 2 or 3 years back.  Why?  It gives me perspective on my life.  I see more clearly God’s working in my life. As they say, “Hindsight’s 20-20”.

I found writing in my journal difficult this past year … meaning I didn’t journal much; therefore it’s a short read. Short or not, it still contains powerful insight.  In January of 2014 I wrote 3 blogs which line up with thoughts from my journaling.  The first titled “Resolutions” detailed the action steps I take in place of making the traditional New Year’s Resolutions.

  1. I reread my journals looking for insights
  2. I go before the Lord asking for my personal “life” verse for the year
  3. I set a few personal goals

The 2nd blog, “Reading Hebrew Style, sort of” outlined a new design for reading my Bible. Reading “backwards” with the goal of digesting more deeply and applying more concretely; not about how long it takes me to read the entire Bible. This year I begin in the Book of Acts. Maybe I will make my way into the Old Testament before 2015 comes to a close 🙂weary 2

The 3rd blog. “Battle Weary”.  Interesting tidbit …. I wrote Battle Weary 24 hours before my accident. The blog was based on a Scripture passage which the Lord impressed upon me in my reading that day, “The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me – put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.  Philippians 4:5-9. Oh my, hindsight really is 20-20. God was preparing me for what lie ahead. God was with me before the accident, during the surgery, during my recovery and all those months of physical therapy following the accident.  The challenge arose when I took my eyes off Him and looked solely at my circumstances.  (Sadly, I did just that all too often) Had I remembered the passage the Lord had provided, and, had I kept my eyes on The One who prepared me beforehand for what was to come, my year, though still challenging, would have been less emotional, less fearful, and a lot more peace filled.

2 Timothy 4-7Nevertheless, God redeems all things. These blogs along with my verse for 2014 and life’s circumstances, hold powerful insights into my next big writing adventure. The verse the Holy Spirit impressed upon my heart in January of 2014 came from the Gospel of Luke; Luke 16:10, “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much”.  I had no clue last January why this verse was chosen, I do now. I am glad God allows us time to grow into the purposes and tasks he sets before us. 2015 will hold its own special challenges as I pursue God’s plan for my life, for Satan has no desire for me to succeed. With the Lord’s strength, the prayers of friends and those I have yet to meet, I pray to be successful in accomplishing the goal.

In closing let me share my “personal” verse for this year… 2 Timothy 4:7 ““I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”  Oh my did I hear the Holy Spirit correctly?  I find the verse both comforting and somewhat disconcerting; more on this later….

Until next time,
Sandra

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

