Merry Christmas Eve – It’s not too late!

Christmas Eve Day… This morning over breakfast, I said to my husband, “Can you believe it’s Christmas Eve Day”? Without hesitation the next sentence which came out of my mouth… “It doesn’t feel like Christmas”. For the next few hours I found myself contemplating the question, “What is Christmas supposed to feel like”?  As a kid Christmas meant presents, family dinners, Christmas treats, yummy fudge and of course the arrival of Santa Claus. As an adult Christmas still means presents and family; for the most part. The presents are fewer as my hubby and I no longer exchange gifts. Our children live in different states and rarely come home for Christmas; as do our grandchildren. Am I simply missing my family? My neighbors would tell you Christmas isn’t Christmas without snow, but, I’ve never lived where it snowed. In years past, after Christmas Eve services, hubby and I along with a group of friends would go out for Chinese dinner; even that has diminished. Perhaps this feeling inside is simply nothing more than a case of melancholy over past memories. You hear the phrase often this time of year, “Christmas is a magical time of year”. Am I looking for some kind of magic? Am I looking for some sort of supernatural explosion of emotional fireworks? Hmm, I wonder?

Why is this Christmas, not feeling like Christmas? The more I “chewed” on the question, the more I understood the cause and effect, and hence the answer to my question. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve read my Bible this month. I’ve not spent much time in prayer other than a cursory would ya, could ya and an occasional thank you, Lord.. As for journaling… well we won’t even go there. One of my favorite things is to worship my Lord and Savior through the singing of favorite Christmas songs. Songs such as, Joy to the World, Come All You Faithful, Gloria in Excelsis Deo, Hark the Herald Angels Sing, O Little Town of Bethlehem, Noel, and my all-time favorite What Child Is This. My list is never ending. I love this time of year. Yet, if I was to add up the number of hours I have spent in freely worshiping God in song, I’m not sure I would even clock in a full day.

A son is givenThe bottom line, I allowed other things to take precedent over my relationship with Jesus this month. I became “Christmas” focused not Jesus focused. And I’ve been pretty much self-focused on health issues, financial challenges and other sundry items; not to mention fretting over my hubby’s health challenges this past month. I have a choice… I can spend the day feeling all is lost, and I’ve missed out on my goal of truly focusing on the real meaning of Christmas, or I can turn on the music and sing away. I can pull out my Bible and read the Christmas story in Luke 2:1 – 21. I can dig out my journal underneath my stack of papers and write a letter of Thanksgiving for all Jesus accomplished, when he chose to be born on earth. My love letter to him will not come close to the measure of love with which he loves me; the measure of love, he loves us all. Because Jesus loves me so, I know he will treasure my letter. The greatest gift I can give him is the gift of me.

My friends I’ve got a lot to do. I’m going to enjoy the feelings of Christmas beginning right now. It’s not too late for you to join me in celebrating Jesus.

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” Isaiah 9:6

Merry Christmas, my friends,
until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Eve – It’s not too late!”

  1. Merry Christmas, to enjoy Christmas is a choice with so much else going on I am glad we both made the choice to celebrate the birth of our Lord in our hearts and not dwell on the secular side that tries to take away the true meaning of this blessed day.

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

