How Our Family Traditions Affect Us As Adults

As I was contemplating an article for Thanksgiving this one appeared in my inbox…. Love what this author shares. Hope you will too.

New Creations Ministries

thXY1TK6Z6

When I was young, the holiday season typically lasted from Thanksgiving to New Year’s. But doesn’t it seem that way nowadays. We celebrate the holidays starting at Halloween and ending at the Super Bowl or Valentine’s Day. Think about this: all those activities surround food. It should be about celebrating family and friends, with food as a side dish, not the main course.

How did your family celebrate holidays?  Did your family throw massive yearly parties? Did mom spoil you with abundant recipes for cookies, pies, brownies?  Do you constantly bake treats because you failed to receive them as a child? Do you carry on habits simply because it’s tradition? Family times can be both joyful and also trying. (Tribulation worketh patience.)

“Gather to me my faithful ones, who made a covenant with me by sacrifice!”  (Psalm 50:5)

How we react around food has to do with how we were raised. I was poor growing up, therefore when I am at…

View original post 397 more words

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

1 thought on “How Our Family Traditions Affect Us As Adults”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

