It’s all about Choices

I came across a quote which seems fitting to use in my blog today, “You are free to choose but you are not free to choose the consequence of your choice”. Diabetes… a consequence of poor choices (at least in my life).  Changing my eating habits to a healthier lifestyle is now a life sustaining necessity.  I will be learning all I can about a subject familiar to millions of people already.  In 2012 the CDC reported, 28.9 million people over the age of 20, (with the biggest percentage falling between the ages of 45-65) live with Diabetes. They estimated another 8.1 million were undiagnosed, yet had the disease. What I found startling, 1.7 million were newly diagnosed cases. Not sure why I find this startling. We, or most of us, know the risks of poor eating habits, yet we choose to ignore them, until a diagnosis forces us to face our decisions. I never believed for a moment I would have a Diabetes diagnosis. Even though I have a family history and I love sweets and carbs. Did knowing the risks and possible outcomes of diabetes on my body’s organs change my eating habits … Absolutely not!  Will it now?  Absolutely yes! I’m a believer now, sadly, too late. If only I would have heeded the advice.  If only I’d listened.

Driving home today, after receiving the news, my mind focused on my walk with the Lord. There are warning signs for me, for you, for us spiritually as well.  Do we heed them?  Some do… some do not. The Bible clearly defines Heaven and Hell, yet, many choose to ignore the reality of such. The Bible’s clear on how unconfessed sin robs us of a deep, intimate, relationship with God, the Creator of all things. Yet, we somehow believe if we don’t admit our wrong doing it will be okay.  A little white lie here, a little denial there; it’s all good. Not. The Bible’s clear on how we can overcome and we simply do not consider the potential risks or consequences of the choices we make.  Why? Do we assume we’ll always have more time?  Do we think we are invincible and therefore will not be affected by our choices? Do we simply not believe what is clearly spelled out before us? By the way, simply believing something is not true does not make it so. Do we believe we keep our options open if we do not choose? Sadly, not choosing means you choose. Not choosing to accept God’s offer of love is choosing; when you don’t say yes, you choose no by default.

free to chooseI am blessed and thankful my life with God is one area where I listened and took notice of future consequences. I chose to say YES!  I’ve never regretted one day of my life with Jesus. Not one! Sadly, I cannot say the same for my health. I ignored the wisdom of eating wisely and in so doing I chose the consequences.

We are not guaranteed another day, another hour, minute or second of life.  What if today you died? Where would your choices leave you in light of Heaven or Hell?  No one likes to talk about Hell; I know I certainly don’t. But, we need too. Today may be the day you will be bound for eternity by your choice. If you are reading this you still have the choice option open; will you say yes, to accept God’s generous offer of a relationship with you (an eternity in Heaven) or, will you say no, and reject his offer choosing an eternity in Hell.  Remember not making a choice is choosing. Please, think about it. (If you need more info on what it means to say yes to Jesus, please email me by clicking on the contact button at the top of the blog).

I am off to learn how to eat better, learn about my disease, and find new recipes to try; to fine tune what I can have, should have, and must stay away from at all costs. I have stated before I do not like vegetables, never have. (I wonder if I could simply fast for the rest of my life…. Hmmm, probably not an option). This will be an interesting Adventure in learning to enjoy “good food” and make wise choices.

Got good recipes, tips and tricks?  Please share them.  I need all the help I can muster.

Until next time,
Hugs, Sandra

“…then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…” Joshua 24:15
If anyone knows who is the originator of this quote, please let me know so I may give proper credit.  Thanks

http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/pubs/estimates14.htm

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

