Gods’ Unusual Answer to Prayer

I sat down, today, to organize my thoughts for a book. A very special book. Also, I wanted get back to compiling and writing my next Christmas devotional; slated for December 2014 (needless to say, I’m way behind schedule on this one). I sat staring at my computer screen, overwhelmed by the task ahead. My little Mosette personality (the personality which takes after Moses) began to fill my mind with doubts of I can’t do this.  I am not qualified to write such a book, etc.  I prayed, asking God for wisdom and direction.  After all this book, or series of articles, was inspired by him.  Who best to ask for wisdom?

Praying complete, I brainstormed on paper.  Logical thing to do under the circumstances. Without thinking, I picked up my journal and found myself at January 28th.  On this day, the only words written were, “Lord, I need direction in my writing. Help me sort out your purpose, desires and goals vs. mine.” Unusual to say the least… Why? Because, when I journal I’m Journal 2014a minimum two page writer. The very next day, in the blink of an eye, my world changed through a simple task.  Walking to my car, I simply stepped off a curb, twisted, and severely broke my ankle. In the hospital, 2 weeks later, God spoke to me during one of the darkest, loneliest moments of fear and extreme pain I’ve ever experienced. I remember everything about that moment, even though it has been 9 months.  Wow, it takes 9 months to give birth…interesting… but I digress.  Until today, I had no idea God was answering my prayer written the day before my injury.

He has clearly given me a direction and a purpose.  Now I need to do my part. I’m still on shaky ground and my footing is unsure… kind of like Moses when he returned to Egypt fulfilling the purpose God set before him.  The voice inside my head still asks, “Me? Lord, Me?  Are you sure you want me to write this?”  Moses surrendered his life to the will of God and saw God’s powerful work,some terrific miracles, witnessed God’s protection and their relationship deepened beyond imagination.  This little Mosette hopes I, too, will witness God’s amazing work, protection, love and grace as I work towards the goal set before me.  As for the relationship between the Lord and I, it cannot help but deepen as I walk with him each step of the way. Am I up to the challenge… heck no!  But, God is… and that’s all I need to know.

And God said…. Philippians 1:9-11 “… This is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ – to the glory and praise of God.”

Off to write the greatest story ever told…. Oh…. wait…. that’s already been written.  Okay, how about the sequel? Well, sort of, kind of…not really 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Gods’ Unusual Answer to Prayer”

    1. Thanks Linda… God brought a new friend into my life who encourages me in my writing. I am blessed to call her friend. Recently, she gave me information on a possible inexpensive way to get my first devotional (printed last year) published for the masses. I am very excited. Thanks for the support. I hope you won’t be disappointed.

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

