The “Eyes” Have It

Giraffe 2

 

I love this little giraffe, so much so I placed his picture on my computer desktop. I found myself drawn to him. Like a magnet I couldn’t seem to turn away. What was it about this little guy which haunted me so? His eyes! His eyes pulled me into his world, into his soul. Do animals have a soul? I’m not sure, but if our soul defines the essence of who we are, than my little guy definitely has a soul. Something about him says, “I want to know more”. Jesus similarly draws me to him.

God created a beautiful world designed for us, his creation, to have an everlasting relationship; a friendship lived out in peace and harmony, in beautiful surroundings. Sadly, his creation wanted more… a relationship with God wasn’t enough. Sin entered into the relationship and into our world. The Bible talks about a time to come when the world will cease to be; when evil will completely take over the world one last time. In essence God will release us to our own self destructive motives and the world as we know it will cease to exist. Life does not end here. Jesus promised his children (those who choose to follow in his footsteps; those who chose to believe he truly is the son of God) a glorious future. He promised life, eternally, lived out in peace and harmony. A life where sorrow no longer enters in, where pain has no definition and evil has no hold.

When I look at this little guy I see God. I see God in the magnificence of this animals beauty and stature, and in the eyes sadness.  My mother always knew when I was sad, not feeling well, happy, or puzzled. When asked how she knew, her response, “Honey, your eyes tell me everything I need to know”. Like my eyes spoke to my mom, this little guy speaks to me. There’s an all-knowing sadness in his eyes. If I were to see God today, I believe, his eyes would hold a similar all-knowing sadness.

Why? God knows not everyone will spend eternity with him in peace and harmony. Many will find their eternal home filled with darkness and a void which defies definition. My finite mind cannot begin to comprehend a world where God does not exist; a world separated from God, separated from his influence. Whether you believe in God or not, at this point, does not change your physical world. It does not change because God is here. There will come a time when some will find themselves in a place where God does not exist. It will be an eternal home of darkness where light never enters; a home of sadness and complete loneliness. A resting place where one hungers and hopes for relief from the pain, but hope will never come … Never! This eventuality brings great sadness to the heart of God.  God never intended for anyone to suffer in such a manner. His hope and desire is for us to choose a relationship with him; to be with him now and in eternity (the afterlife).  Not every one chooses to know God or to have a relationship with his son; Jesus.  Just as we cannot force human relationships due to freedom of choice, neither will God force his self upon us.  We all have freedom to choose.

Today, will you choose to discover and learn all you can about this man called Jesus? You really have nothing to lose… Actually, you have everything to gain. It’s your choice.

Until next time

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” John 3: 16

Note:  The photographer of this pic is unknown at this time.

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

