This World is Not my Home…

I’ve been studying the Scriptures and doing research on Heaven. Currently I’m reading the book “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn. Randy states, “Our destiny [as believers in Jesus Christ] is an earthly one: a new earth, an earth redeemed and transfigured.  An earth reunited with heaven, but an earth, nevertheless”. I always thought of Heaven in more ethereal terms, a place with no physical dimensions per se; not an earth rebuilt. Randy goes on to say, “we’re living on the remnants of a perfect world, as the remnants of a perfect humanity.”

Did you catch that? The world we live on was the original world created by God. The world I/we exist in and on is the remnant of His perfection. It not only gave me a new perspective, but a new awareness of the world in which I live and care for; God’s world! A mere glimpse of God’s original creation before sin entered.

I find it difficult to imagine a world, an earth, without sin, without evil, and without temptation. My mind simply cannot grasp something which it has never seen or experienced. When I sit in my back yard in the early morning hours, sheltered from the world, my waterfall bubbling, listening to birds chirping, a sense of peace engulfs my spirit. I love those early mornings spent with Bible in hand. Evening too has its own sense of wonder.  The sunsets seems to whisper, “Good night my love”, as God tucks His creation in for the night; the desert-sky providing a glorious lullaby, rich in color. I suspect each new dawn and each setting of the sun gives us a small taste of the richness in beauty which awaits us in eternity.

hubble_39I’ve not always longed for Heaven.  Perhaps it’s age, but I find myself with thoughts of Heaven more frequently.  I long for a world, without evil and where sin is non-existent.  I long for a place where obedience comes easy as there’s no tempter.  A place where I hear God clearly, no longer wondering, “Is that you speaking, God?” A place where I see God – A place where I can touch and feel the scars in the hands of Jesus and say thank you! I long for a place of beauty which one cannot describe in human terms. I long for the place where all pain, tears and sadness are wiped away.

I am reminded of the lyrics from an older hymn…
This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Author Paul Marshall writes, “This world is our home: we are made to live here. It has been devastated by sin, but God plans to put it right. Hence, we look forward with joy to newly restored bodies and to living in a newly restored heaven and earth. We can love this world because it is God’s, and it will be healed, becoming at last what God intended from the beginning.”

I desire to discover all the treasures which await me there. But alas, I know I shall never know them all this side of Heaven. God keepsComing Home Graphic some surprises for our homecoming.  Heaven’s a beautiful place and its mystery is slowly being revealed to me as I study the Scriptures.  This world is not my home I am just a passing through…. And am I forever glad.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “This World is Not my Home…”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

