Someone’s Little Girl

I love celebrating Independence Day; not just for the fireworks or the celebration and recognition I live in a country with freedoms. My mom entered into life one glorious 4th of July making this day extra special. Mom, now deceased many years, filled my thoughts this Fourth of July.

My mother gave her children a special gift; a legacy of unconditional love. No matter how much trouble my siblings and I got into, or how often we disobeyed, or behaved like bratty little children, we always knew we were loved. I grew up in a middle-class home with parents who sacrificed much to give their children all they needed and more. Looking back, I realize I didn’t always appreciate, or understand, the sacrifices made for our benefit. It was simply parents doing what parents do.

imageThis Fourth of July I sat on my driveway watching a splendid display of fireworks; my thoughts turning to mom. I remembered the celebration of birthdays from my childhood. Mom would make our favorite cake – mine being white cake with fudge frosting. Mom made unique chocolate fudge frosting which hardened, yet was thin enough to spread. Sometimes, I would break off a piece of the frosting devouring it like a standalone desert. I never learned how to make that frosting; I sure wish I had. What I wouldn’t give for one more piece of mom’s fudge frosted white cake. She would prepare our favorite meal, too. I had two favs: fried chicken (boy could mom fry delicious chicken) with mashed potatoes, green beans and cornbread; or pot roast with mashed potatoes and roasted sweet carrots.

My tender memories were suddenly engulfed with sadness remembering once again, I’m no longer someone’s little girl. We all long to be someone’s little girl or boy. I felt very alone even though hubby was right next to me. My eyes swelled with tears and then among the soft breeze of the evening came a voice whispering to my heart, “Sandra, you are my little girl, and will always be such”. The voice of God’s Holy Spirit was sweet, tender and filled with a depth of love that defies explanation. I am someone’s little girl!

I am grateful for the love shown to me and my siblings by mom.  She was a  gracious woman who had a zest for life. I’m even more grateful for the unconditional, perfect love, expressed to me by my Heavenly Father. The Father who meets me in my moments of quiet, overwhelming sadness, and whispers, “You, are my little girl, my Princess, forever and always”.

Until next time,
Sandra

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you {with an everlasting love}; I have summoned you by name, you are mine.” (Isaiah 43:1) (Jeremiah 31:3) paraphrased.

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

3 thoughts on “Someone’s Little Girl”

  1. Hi Sandra! Your blog brought tears to my eyes because it brought back precious memories of my Mom. I came years after my sister and brother…so I was like an only child. She was an excellent cook and taught me how to make many types of food…especially German food! And her fried chicken was also very good even though I can’t have it anymore. Our son, Brion, kept experimenting until he finally figured out the right spices and technique to making it. Mom was also the first person in our whole family to become a Christian and was influential in many, if not most of the family, also becoming Christians. She died back in 1996 and is missed by MANY people including me!! Thank you again for writing the things you do. You are a blessing.
    Love, hugs and blessings, Carol

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

