Mentoring Others

Today, I’m really excited. I have acquired a new friend to mentor; a brand new person to the Christian faith. She is discovering walking with Jesus to not be as she envisioned. Like many of us, she desires a checklist; a list which says, if I do this, this will happen. If I don’t do this, then this will happen. She desires it all laid out nice and neat. I can’t speak for others, only me. Rarely has my walk with Jesus been a neat and tidy road-map with a checklist of do’s and don’ts. Its more like a roller coaster ride filled with great joy and excitement. Sometimes, a wee bit scary and frightening. It’s a journey of ups and downs, twists and turns; times of quiet, enjoyable coasting and times of loopy loops, resembling a tornado.

Why was today exciting? God revealed Himself to my new mentee through His Word. She saw the Holy Spirit at work in her life in a concrete, tangible and unmistakable way. Those ah-ha moments are precious and I am thrilled when I get to share in another’s.

The devil never likes it when a person chooses to become a follower of Jesus. It means he lost a soul. My friend has only been a Christian about a month. Easter Sunday the devil was working on her late at night. She experienced an undefinable restlessness within her devil cartoonsoul and experienced fear; fear someone was watching her. The fear caused severe discomfort, almost crippling her movements and robbed her of peaceful sleep. Certain someone’s watching her, in spite of her fear, she got up from her bed and switched on the light. Not knowing what else to do, she picked up her Bible. She had no clue where to start or what to look for to find peace. She says, “I decided I would just pick up my Bible and wherever it landed I would start to read.” She read, “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and a sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith…” 1 Peter 5:7-8 What are the odds? Could it possibly be coincidence? Not being a mathematician I do not comprehend the odds of this situation. I do know there are over 31,000 verses and to hit on the right passage, first time out, the odds must be astronomical; clearly not coincidence but divine guidance.

I’m not a devotee of the flip the Bible and see where my finger lands method when looking to God for wisdom. In this particular instance, one cannot deny the outcome.  In prayer, she gave over her anxiety to God’s control. He defined her battle of fear. The battle was not one of flesh and blood, but a spiritual battle. Satan, not being happy about her decision to follow Jesus, was trying to persuade her into believing she was not really a child of God. He was attempting to use fear to unsettle her. Yet, God revealed to my friend, He most definitely had her back!

It’s in moments like this, I get to stand up and shout yea God! God reveals himself to usjesus_hand daily in so many ways. We often do not see because we are not looking. My young friend thought it was coincidental. Now, she sees God at work in her life. She is learning that when you are walking with God there’s no such thing as coincidence.

How about you?  Do you see the Holy Spirit at work in your life? If not, perhaps you are not looking. Remember there are no coincidences when one is a child of God! Begin looking for the God-incidences in your life. Or, as a dear friend calls them, the “Coinc-a-God’s”.

Until next time,
Sandra

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Mentoring Others”

  1. I always think of them this way; God the Creator, Jesus the Savior and the Holy Spirit the inner voice. When we listen to Him we stay out of trouble. Thanks for posting, appreciate your comments.

    Like

  2. Great post Sandra. Yes we need to look sometimes to see the Holy spirit and his works for us.and other times we are not looking and there he is. Jesus watches over us all the time and some folks call him the Holy Spirit. I do believe that is the case. Some folks even call him God. I also believe thats the case. Three in one. What a deal.

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

