Embarking on a “True” Love Affair

Why Did God Give Us the Bible?

Interesting question and one I have never contemplated fully until today.  Scripture tells me that God’s Word, is inspired, God breathed, and useful for teaching me, for showing me my mistakes, for correcting me, and aiding in my character training.  Why? So I and others will be equipped to do everything that is good.  Ah, but there is more.

Mankind has a very well plotted life road-map as the Bible reveals our past, where we came from; tells of our present, why things are the way they are; and lays out the future, where we are headed.

compass moralIn the Bible we find our moral compass.  As we read and apply to our lives what we have read we become equipped to do everything good. We recognize when we are off track and need a redirection in course.  The Book of Hebrews states,” the Word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” The Bible’s more than simple knowledge. I bet you thought you read the Bible, but maybe, just maybe, God’s Word reads us. Without a doubt it surely reveals the core of who we really are, of who I really am.  Reading the Bible changes you!

God created us for relationship; a relationship to evolve between God our creator and us; you and me. How would we ever get to know God, His character and all He’s about without the Bible? God is Spirit. We cannot experience God as we do in other relationships. Technically you cannot see, feel or touch God. Yet, through the Bible we do.  We feel His compassion and love for His creation.  We see His care for His people throughout history.  We experience His faithfulness to those whom He loves no matter how much we disappoint. We share in His joy of art through nature, and more.

The Bible is God’s love letters to us.  I remember when I first dated my husband.  We spent hours sharing our deepest longings of the heart.  We shared our hopes, our dreams and goals.  We shared our fears, our struggles, and our disappointments.  I listened and hung on my intended’s every word.  The Bible is God’s way of sharing His life with us. His way of sharing His deepest longings and desires.  Do you hang on His every word?

I admit to you my friends and readers I have not always seen the Bible as a love letter.  I love lettercertainly have not hung on its every word.  It was my manual for good living.  A check list of what I’m doing wrong. Great resource for blogs and Bible Studies. It was personal and yet it wasn’t. I often saw God as a harsh judge, rather than a loving Father who went to extremes to show is love for me. I have been “walking” with the Lord for many years. Lately, I felt, no craved more of Jesus in my life. I felt like I was missing something.  No matter how hard I tried I couldn’t seem to grasp it; whatever “it” was… until now. For more than 40 years I have drawn close to God but I never fully allowed Him to draw close to me; except on an occasion or two. I missed the real treasure found in His Word, the Bible. I hold not just paper with words, but the very essence of God in my hands.  Tomorrow, when I sit down to read my Bible, I will look at each passage the way God intended; my love letter, personally written by God just for me. I will not just read the printed word on white pages.  I will savor the morsel of a love language I, only now, am beginning to understand. Like those first budding years of my relationship with my hubby I can hardly wait to linger on God’s every word. To discover what makes Him tick; to discover what gives Him goose-bumps, what breaks His heart, what makes Him smile and a whole host of other things. To rediscover my love for Jesus…. in some ways for the first time.

I can’t wait for His heart to become one with mine… why wait?  More later. I’m off to enjoy a true love affair.

Until next time,
Sandra

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Embarking on a “True” Love Affair”

  1. This is such a beautiful way of expressing why we need Gods Word in our lives daily. I need to read it more, not just bits and pieces but starting at the beginning of a chapter to the end of it. Love your blogs Marian

    Sent from my iPad For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that who so ever believes on Him might be saved. John 3:16

    >

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

