5 Seconds and Life took a Twist

How I wish I could reset the date back to January 29th. But alas, simply not possible without a miracle of unseen proportions. January 29th a beautiful sunny day with a sweet breeze in the air. Attending my mid-week Bible study that day I felt I had received a direct word from The Lord regarding my writing and blogging path. Feeling pretty confident and on top of the world I could hardly wait to share insights with my friends over lunch. One misstep off a curb and the pavement and I became kissing buddies. Kneeling in a Middle East praying position this thought briefly popped into my brain, “I had no idea I could bend and stretch to such lengths, WOW!” The throbbing in my now 45 degree ankle told me I was in trouble. All I could utter was, “God, please help.. Oh God help”.

That was a day of many firsts starting with my broken ankle right down too- – – – well we are not at the end of the journey yet, to know when the firsts end. I have had lots of time to think, to ponder and to chew. I find it interesting that on the two occasions my church body, my life group, and I, personally, are ramping up for more spiritual growth in prayer I end up potentially taken out of the game in major proportions. Coincidence? I do not believe in coincidence in a life surrendered to The Lord. Nothing happens by chance. I do not think it’s pure happenstance that on my other blog site – http://throughthebibletogether.wordpress.com I began a series on the miraculous healings of Jesus recorded in the Bible only weeks before my accident.

God has a plan and a purpose. I believe I am being prepared for a different, perhaps even deeper ministry. God never promised us a rose garden or that we would not have trials; just the opposite. Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. James 1:2-4 God has promised to be our strength. Psalm 46:1 God is our protection and our strength. He always helps in times of trouble.

I would love to share I’ve had complete peace and faith. But to share that, would be a lie. I’ve had strong moments of fear, of doubt and asking the 100 why questions. On the flip side I’ve had moments of anticipation in looking forward to how God will use this in my life to make an impact for Kingdom good and the ability to reach out to others. I’ve seen Jesus at work as I catch a little glimpse here and there as He works through this experience. I’ve written some amazing blogs (best ever 🙂 )while laying on my back staring at the ceiling. The questions is… Will I recall them? If so, there might be some good reading to come 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.” James 5:16 ESV

Personal note: ankle broke in 4 major places… Waited 12 days for surgery and now in the recovery – healing stage. Praying for one’s needs is a great gift. Many have prayed for me and I am grateful for those prayers. Thank you, and please don’t stop. I have a long journey ahead.

20140215-175818.jpg

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “5 Seconds and Life took a Twist”

  1. Isn’t it co-incidental that my sister Paula, who is 86 years old, fell off a curb and broke something, and is living in the re-hab section of her Retirement Center. I can send her some of your blogs to comfort her. I cannot discern exactly what she broke, because she is holding the information close.
    Lately, I have been having a problem with numb fingers and thumbs. On Jan. 23rd, I had surgery on the right hand for Carpel Tunnel Syndrome. I had heard that it was a minor matter, and expected to be healed in a couple days. It is now the last of February, and it is still wrapped up in an Ace bandage. It is healing, though very slowly, possibly because of my age. 85. Yesterday, I tried just putting a large Band-Aid type on it, got it wet rinsing dishes, and had to change the bandage. When I pulled off the tape, the skin came with it! So, it’s back to the gauze and Ace Bandage.
    Through all of this, I have had time to do a great deal of cogitating. I think a lot about my Cerebral-Palsied grandson, who has spent his entire life without the use of his legs. He can use only one hand, and not well with that one. He never complains. One day, when he was living with us, he observed, “You know, Grandma, I’m lucky.”
    I asked him why. He replied, “Well, some of my school friends (in special needs class) can’t even speak, and I can speak very well. I’m lucky.”
    Now, that’s what I call “counting your blessings”! As I’ve struggled just a month with the use of just one hand and arm, I think of Levi, and try to count my blessings.
    My hubby has tried to help me as much as he can. In 2010, he had a stroke, which completely paralyzed one side and took away his speech. As he has struggled back from that overwhelming trauma, he worked very hard in Re-Hab. He learned to walk, not as well as formerly, and talk, not as well as formerly. But he never complained. He helps me as much as he can. He walks with a cane, but he unloads the dishwasher for me. We eat TV dinners, ready-made pot pies, and anything else that requires a minimum of preparation. I do all the driving now, so, he holds the right side of the steering wheel, and my left hand works on the left side. Between us, we manage.
    I gripe more about one hand than he has complained, trying to make his whole body work!
    I shouldn’t be telling you all of this, but I wanted to let you know that you are doing a Godly work, with your blogs, and they help those of us who need them. May God speed your own recovery.
    In Christian Love,
    Wanda McGinnis

    Like

    1. Wanda, your post has been in a holding pattern I guess. I thought I wrote but could not a reply. I am so sorry. Thank you for sharing. I love to hear from friends and readers. You two be careful when out in the world. Life surely throws us some hard curve balls for sure. Sorry to hear about hubby’s and your curve balls. What a perspective your grandson has. We could all learn a lot from him. Hope to hear from you often. Hugs Me

      Like

  2. I can tell you’re already back in the groove ministering God’s messages to all of us. Thanks for being used by God. May He bless and heal you completely (and quickly?)

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

