Battle Weary

Many years ago, back in the late 70s early 80s, I read a book called, “The Bumps Are What We Climb On”. The gist of the book being, those little bumps get us to the top; in this case, the little bumps of life. Do you ever get tired of the little bumps? Ever feel like you’re continually climbing the same bumps on the same mountain? Do you ever want to stand up and scream, enough already! I had a day like that recently. It started out a good day and weary 2in a matter of moments, the day morphed into a flood of emotion. I found myself revisiting an old battle, one I’d hoped to never face again. The original battle drained me emotionally, required a ton of perseverance and even more faith; that’s how it is when you’re battling with the devil. Without warning all the old wounds and battle scars, along with the fatigue from the previous battle set in. In that moment it appeared time had not passed and ground had not been gained. I felt battle weary once again.

The prophets of old many times felt battle weary. The prophets delivered messages from God to the people of Israel; God’s chosen people. When a profit entered the city most of the time it was not to give a pat on the back and say, well done good and faithful servant. Because of their love for God’s people, they knew the message they brought would be filled with heart ache and often judgment. The prophets knew it was vital to their calling to stay close to God; to lean on him and allow him to refresh their battled weary souls when needed. They understood the importance of a godly perspective and a surrendered heart to the will of God.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time you know I have a systematic way of reading the Bible and this year I’m going backwards; in other words, from Revelation to Genesis. I turned to Philippians Chapter 4, my spot for today’s reading.  I couldn’t help but chuckle inwardly, just a little, as I read, “… The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me – put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

Does God speak to his children today through his word? I will let the evidence speak for itself.

Until next time,
May the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, guard your hearts and minds today; be blessed.
Sandra

Deuteronomy 31:8angels guard over thee

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

