Wow – Less than 5 Minutes

Happy New Year, my dear friends,

I shared in my last blog, that in recent years, the Holy Spirit would place a verse on my heart at the beginning of each New Year. This year the Holy Spirit has impressed upon me, Luke 16:10, “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much,…” Sometimes I understand why God chose a particular verse. I must admit, this year I’m clueless. I know my faithful Lord will reveal why, over the next 12 months.

Luke 16-10Luke 16:10 is found almost smack-dab in the middle of the Parable of the Shrewd Manager. It’s the story of a manager who finds himself accused of wasting his employer’s possessions. His employer, an extremely rich man, calls the manager to give an accounting of his dealings. The manager goes to each of his master’s debtors and one-by-one lowers the amount they owe in an effort to influence and win them over. Should he succeed, the manager figures he will have a place to stay when the rich man fires him. In other words, he wants them to like him. As a result of the manager’s actions, the rich man commends the dishonest manager for acting shrewdly. He says, “For the people of this world are more shrewd in dealing with their own kind, than are the people of the light.” He goes on to say, “I tell you, use worldly wealth to gain friends for yourselves, so that when it is gone, you will be welcomed into eternal dwellings. Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much...,” (the complete story may be read in Luke chapter 16).

I admit, I am mystified. The manager was accused of wasting the rich man’s possessions. I prayed, “Lord I am not wealthy, what is it you’re wanting me to understand from this passage and verse? Are there others things one might not manage well; wasting”? God answered:

1. Money
2. Time
3. Spiritual giftedness (see 1 Corinthians 12:1-11; Romans 12:6-8 and 1 Peter 4:10-11)
4. Talents
5. Physical being (the Lord gave each of us a body in which the Holy Spirit could dwell; are we taking care of it correctly or wasting it?)
6. Personal possessions – a.k.a. things which God has provided
7. Relationships
8. Family and extended family –  (as parents are we nurturing, caring for, and doing all we can for our children’s spiritual well-being? If married how is your relationship with your spouse? and more..)
9. Community (God placed each of us within a community. We are where we are for a reason. Do we share Jesus with our neighbors and those within our sphere of influence?)
10. God’s church (our we “pew-sitters” or are we fulfilling the role God designed for us to fill within our church body? Are we doing all we can do, all God expects us to do, to further his kingdom?)

Wow! In less than 5 minutes God revealed to me 10 areas of possibility. Will God be working with me in all 10 areas? I certainly hope not. Although, I must admit, when I peruse the list I see weaknesses in every one of these areas. Oh my!

Perhaps when you look at the list you too will discover areas of weaknesses in your own life. Maybe God is calling you to work on 1 or 2 of these areas. The Lord may have a completely different plan for your life in 2014. May I encourage you to go before the Lord in prayer, asking Him to give you, your very own verse for 2014? Don’t be afraid. He might lead you to Matthew 11:28, “Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

