Reflecting on Biblical Healing

aching backEver prayed for something for a long time and wonder why God either isn’t answering, or is saying no? I suspect we all have at one time or another. Several years ago my spine got tired of holding me up and I went through a challenging time with months of physical therapy to correct my inability to walk without severe pain. I slowly got better. The pain subsided, or became manageable, depending on your perspective. It never truly goes away. This Christmas, I over did (no surprises there) and of course the pain escalated.

I sat on my couch early this morning asking God why he would choose not to heal me. These past few days I have prayed he would place his hands at the top of my spine and one-by-one work his way down my spine, touching each vertebral space along the way, restoring it back to new. This prayer is not new as I have prayed it many times in the last few years. Interesting thing about this prayer… Almost every time I pray for healing the pain eases up; at least for a while. Sometimes it goes away altogether, only to return at a later time. This got me thinking, or as I always say, “chewing”, on healing.

Healing  Hands 700 x 330

Were the healings, recorded in the Bible, long-lasting and permanent never to return again? Were they healings for the moment? Were they temporary, only to last for however long the Lord deemed necessary? To tell you the truth I don’t know the answer. Perhaps one of my readers out there knows the answer’s I seek.

I will be researching the healings done by Jesus and see what I can ferret out. I suspect many of my readers might like to know the answer too. I will share my discoveries with you right here. I’m not sure what I will learn. Perhaps it will be like a lot of my research, where I end-up with more questions than answers. The Lord and I are going on a journey and you are invited along.

Be well
Until next time,
Sandra

 

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

1 thought on “Reflecting on Biblical Healing”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

