Scrooge-i-tude

I must admit I started out this Christmas season with a bit of an attitude; a Scrooge-a-tude.  It started at Thanksgiving when I realized Black Friday was quickly becoming “Black Thursday and Friday”. Thanksgiving being pushed aside and like so many things would soon be nothing more than a day to go shopping; at least from my perspective. The whole consumerism society we have become simply overwhelmed me and made me very saddened.  A day to give thanks quickly becoming just another day with an emphasis on shopping.

Mr MagooThe commercials on TV all promote more spending more buying more, more, and more.  J.C. Penny’s even created a song about spending more under the guise of giving more to others.  Churches have even got on the band wagon. This time of year churches ask for donations to help those in need.  My ears hearing plenty of give, give, give, buy, buy, buy, and help, help, help everywhere I turned. None of it bad – helping those less fortunate, why I can think of nothing more rewarding.

My question is… “Where is Jesus in all this”?  After all is it not His birth we celebrate?      My heavy heart wanted me to stand up and shout like the newscaster in the movie “Network”, “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore!” I’m saddened and burdened by the direction our world’s heading.  Little, by little, and more and more, Jesus, the very reason for Christmas is being set aside; pushed out all in the game of let’s not offend anyone!

I didn’t like the way I was feeling. It was getting me absolutely nowhere, except miserable.  I finally took my ache to the Lord, after all it is He who I am fighting for… isn’t it? Perhaps He should have some say. At the feet of Jesus, in prayer, I was reminded, of God’s greatest gift to us; Jesus; a gift which keeps on giving throughout the seasons, throughout the years, throughout generations, on into eternity. God the creator of the universe can fight this battle. He has a plan and He knows the outcome. God asked me a question, “Why did Jesus come”? The answer… “Salvation”, “Correct”.  “How will this be accomplished today? The answer… “By changing the hearts of mankind, one person at a time” “Again, correct” “Your job is to give the gift of Jesus to others at Christmas”. “Easier said than done”, I say.  How does one give Jesus to another person, other than sharing the Bible and the story of God’s great love?

time giftYou give the gift of Jesus reflected through you!  Today one of the most costly items is time.  You give the gift of your time; a most precious gift in this century.

How?  Here are a few suggestions to get you started:

  1. The gift of babysitting hours to a single parent or family who struggles to make ends meet and who could use a date night or two.
  2. Cookies are always welcome – yum
  3. The gift of freezer meals for a week or two given to a family who works long hours; or give these meals to an elderly couple who finds it hard to cook for just two people.
  4. A gift of time spent with you over coffee and homemade muffins or biscuits.
  5. Do you have musical abilities.  Get your friends together and give a concert for those living in an assisted living facility or nursing home.  They would love to hear some great talent be it vocal or instrumental.
  6. What about spending time with a blind person, or an elderly person(s) in a care facility.  Spend time reading them their favorite book or share yours with them.  Great way to share Jesus with others.
  7. Young and old like for others to listen to them.  Visit with those who are home bound and allow them to talk your ears off 🙂

I am sure there are a hundred more ways.  I would love to hear some of your suggestions.  Please share them by leaving a comment or two.

When did Christmas become about wrappings, presents, and all the trimmings of decorations and hub-bub. Shouldn’t our focus be on the reason for the season? Shouldn’t Christmas be centered on the birth of our Savior and the gift He brings? Instead of spending time, energy and hard earned money on things which will break, be forgotten in a toy box, or tossed in the trash within a year, how about giving an everlasting gift – the gift of Jesus reflected through you to others?

Until next time,

Sandra

Jesus is the best gift we can give to another person.  He is the best gift we can give ourselves.

 

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

