Praying for Obama and …

When did you last pray for government leaders, church leaders, and all those in authority? Paul in his letter to Timothy urges us, “first of all” that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone – for kings and all those in authority. Why? So we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. Paul goes on to say doing such is good, and pleases God our Savior.

Urge – earnestly, persistently to persuade – a strong desire or impulse. When we urge someone to do something it says we believe and place value in its importance. Paul listen-to-the-word-of-god1believed praying for those in authority to be of utmost importance. I cannot honestly say my life reflects this importance. I believe it’s imperative we pray for those in authority, but, I don’t follow through. It’s easier to be miffed, condescending in my responses and commiserate with my friends regarding the issues in our government, rather than pray for its leaders.

It does not matter how I personally feel about our current President or the Affordable Care Act program. Besides, I would be a wee bit arrogant to presume I know best. God is in control. I can whine, complain, gossip, and write my letters in an effort to bring about a modification in direction; none of which guarantee to have an effect on World change. None of these bring peace to my soul either; only fear and discord. Praying will make a difference in the World and bring peace to my soul.

God is in control. Great statement! Do I truly believe it? This question warrants examination. Saying, “I believe” pours off my tongue without a second thought. The proof is in the pudding, so to speak. Do my actions say I believe? Do my thoughts and my conversations with others, say I believe? Does my prayer life reflect I believe? If my actions do not line up with what I profess to believe then it boils down to a great statement.

I desire my belief to be truth not merely a great statement. The Affordable Care Act affordable-healthcare-actprogram being implemented is wrought with confusion, resistance, misinformation, and a tremendous amount of hype (both negative and positive). What’s the truth? I have nary a clue, but I know the one who does?

My friends fall on both sides of the fence. Some will receive treatment and coverage for medical issues which they were unable to receive previously. Other friends lost insurance coverage or their premiums are rising. Why? A variety of reasons, all citing the implementation of the Affordable Care Act as the cause. Greed and politics and the struggle for power and control have always made for an interesting partnership. Unfortunately when this happens our leaders lose sight of who they are to serve. Like my friends, I and my adult children are affected by the confusion, the hype, the unclear guidelines, and the tug-of-war. My heart hurts for my friends who are negatively affected. My heart rejoices for those who will finally receive care. Talk about a 2 sided “coin” – this certainly qualifies.

I desire a life which is peaceful and quiet in all godliness and holiness. Therefore, I will not join in idle gossip, talk about that which I truly do not understand, and will follow the command laid forth in 1 Timothy. The enemy has caused division – prayer can restore unity. The key is praying as God would have me pray, not as I might pray, wanting what I think is best. Imagine if everyone who professes to be a believer in Christ prayed according to God’s wishes and not self. Imagine the difference which could be wrought in our world. Mind boggling! Absolutely mind boggling!

2014Our President and all members of Congress could use some compassionate and earnest prayers said on their behalf. Need some ideas – the following links may prove helpful.
http://www.billygraham.org/pray-for-leaders/downloads/How_to_Pray_for_Our_Leaders_Download.pdf
http://www.presidentialprayerteam.com/

Desire your prayers to be more specific? Use the person’s name as you pray. For example, “I pray for President Obama to have the courage to do the right thing even when urged to do the wrong thing” (Billy Graham’s praying for our leaders)

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Praying for Obama and …”

    1. Thank you for your kind words. It truly would be a wonderful experiment wouldn’t it. I suspect we would all be amazed. I appreciate you stopping by my blog, so to speak, and taking time to comment.

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

