Blessings of the Morning

Because you asked – 2009-2010 Devotion re-post

I have a routine of getting up in the mornings, fixing my cup of coffee and heading out to my patio for my meeting with God. I often arise early, like 5-5:30, while the morning air still has a slight crispness; this time of day revives my soul in unexplainable ways.  I tend to be a morning person by design. But this is early for me.  I didn’t always arise this early. I knew I needed time with God each day if I was going to go out and about being His hands and feet.  I knew I needed an understanding of His plan and direction for the day.  As I looked at my schedule I realized it had to be at the beginning of my day. Nighttime – a no-go as I turn into a zombie when as the sun dips below the horizon.

I began to set my clock for 6:30am… this didn’t work … some days I found myself barely arriving to work on time. I did a rather remarkable thing, I asked the Lord to set the time for our get-together. Since then I have been waking up in the early mornings. Sometimes at 4:30am and on rare occasions I sleep in until 6:00 or 7:00am.

fountainAs I sit here on my patio, listening to my waterfall, I realize I am truly blessed.  My heavenly Father desires to meet with me every morning.  These times are simply magical; like today… it’s quiet, with an ever so slight breeze blowing.  I watch the birds as they come one-by-one to drink from the flowing water of the waterfall.  Sometimes whole families come to enjoy the refreshing water. The sounds of God’s creation which would go unnoticed in the busyness of my day are now a symphony to my ears, and a serenade to my soul.  Mr. Quail as he sings to his mate – Cactus Woody, the woodpecker, as he hammers away-making a home for his family and the sweet coo of the morning dove as the sun breaks through the darkness, bringing warmth to the morning air.

I love to watch the myriad of birds as they fly by searching for food.  One of my favorites is the Hawk.  These mighty birds of prey have such beauty as they stretch out their beautiful wings and soar through the air. The hawks seamlessly float side-to-side, up and down, effortlessly enjoying the coolness of the morning… with an ever keen awareness of life around them.  Then there is Bobbins the lizard.  He is a new addition to the morning family. He gently walks across the top of my brick wall, stops… looks my way and bobs a few times up and down, as if to say, “Good morning”  before heading on his way.

I wonder what Adam and Eve experienced in the Garden of Eden.  I can only imagine the beauty, the sounds, the perfect blending of nature at its supreme best.  They had it all, yet they let sin take it away.  Lest I begin to judge, I am gently reminded, I too can easily let my blessings all slip away by sin in my life. The sin of busyness; the sin of apathy; the sin of saying I’m so tired, “One more hour of sleep, please”; the sin of taking all God has provided for granted – due to an ungrateful heart.

child of GodThe greatest gift I can give God is the gift of me. This thought astounds me.  It’s really remarkable when you consider the greatest gift I can give God is time and one of the greatest gifts I get in return is time; time with the Creator of the universe.  Now that’s what I call, a win!

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “Blessings of the Morning”

  1. I find the mornings to be good for my time with God. Coffee with my creator. I am so thankful for the time with Him. So many people have to hide to be with God for fear of their life. We are privileged to be free to worship. Don’t take it for granted. I read scripture, journal and pray. Then I put the Christian music on for praise as I prepare for my day. I feel rested and ready for the day. If I over sleep, then my time with God is cut short but to be continued in the car as I drive to work. I am thankful for these blessings.

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

