Obsolete Not Good!

In my devotions today I read, “What is obsolete and aging will soon disappear”. The passage has absolutely nothing to do with where my mind went, but nevertheless I went agingthere. I can do nothing about the fact I am aging; aging’s part of living on planet Earth. A wise gentleman named Solomon once said, “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot …” Ecclesiastes 3:1-2.

I have entered the “Fall” season of my life; how long before I enter my “Winter Season”, the Lord only knows. The subject for today is not my aging but the possibility of becoming obsolete. Something all of us should ponder and do everything within our capabilities to avoid.

Obsolete according to the world renown “Dictionaryologist”, Merriam Webster, means, “no longer in use or no longer useful; old-fashioned; indistinct or imperfect as compared with a corresponding part in related organisms…” While I may age, becoming obsolete… not an option!

We live in a society where age is not respected and old is seen as antiquated, no longer useful – having served its time and purpose; in other words obsolete – “Out with the Old and in with the New”. [i] I don’t want to be dismissed or replaced – I have plenty of life. I have wisdom born out of 50 plus years of experiences. I have much to learn before leaving earth. I have much to share!

The key is found not in the word old, but obsolete. If we want to age “Gray-cefully” we need to do all within our power to learn and stay-up with the times. We must not be afraid of new technology; we must learn new technology. We must not fear younger managers in the work place; we need to embrace and learn from them; they’re part of our present and most definitely the future. We must not hang on too tightly to old ways and learn to embrace change.typewriter oldCommunication has changed we have Twitter, Facebook, texting, Skype, Face-time and more. Who knows what tomorrow may bring. I am glad we have progressed past smoke signals, carrier pigeons, telegrams, clunky typewriters and letters. A pretty note in a beautiful card or on stationary is a gift of love now; where once it was common place. Mobile/cell phones have become lighter and easier to carry. Who’d have thunked 🙂 we’d be carrying mini computers in our pockets? Someone did! We live in a world where new inventions surface every day (some good… some not so good). Newness means life taking place; regeneration. It is all good. Notice I didn’t say perfect.

Becoming obsolete is not good. Becoming obsolete crosses gender barriers; it can happen to either sex. We become obsolete when we shy away; when we hold tightly to the past; when we say it’s too hard and don’t ask for help for fear of losing our independence; our pride. A luxury we cannot afford as we age is to hang onto unhealthy pride; humility always the better choice. Yes, sometimes the younger generation’s a wee bit too impatient. Before you throw the first stone, those of us past the age of 60 often become more impatient and rude then those young’uns ever dreamed of being with us. I have found, if I approach with a mindset of learning and the desire to understand what I do not comprehend, asking with an attitude of acceptance and respect, the younger generation willing answers my questions; in fact they’re quite helpful. I admit my confusion and even play-up the gray-haired syndrome (having fun with gray haired age).

Life moves at a pretty quick pace and is too short to be so serious. Embrace your age. Have fun with aging. Laugh at yourself and life as much as you’re able; you’ll be healthier and happier. We may need to write the instructions and we may need to ask again and again but that’s okay. Hanging on to pride, pretending we know it all, pretending we don’t need any help and resisting change is not in our best interest; especially if we wish to avoid becoming obsolete in a world which needs us and we need back.

old-ladies

Watch out world here we come!

Where did I put those car keys… oh my,
a subject for another time 🙂 🙂

Until next time,
Sandra

This is a re-post from http://aginggraycefully.wordpress.com/

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “Obsolete Not Good!”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

