Connecting through the Heavens

I sat down to write this morning and nothing; the words the thoughts just aren’t coming. How does one grasp eternity?  My finite mind simply cannot wrap its head around the infinite. When I ask people what heaven will be like, I generally get these kinds of responses; “No more sickness”; “I don’t know. I just hope to get there” “Better than here, that’s for sure” and “I don’t know, I just know I’m ready”.

Where to start? Perhaps, the beginning would be the best place. In Genesis chapter 1 we read, “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” Most theologians believe the references in Genesis 1, refer to the sky; the part of our galaxy, which we can see, and the galaxies beyond. It is believed the galaxies extend far beyond what human eyes and the most powerful microscope in the world can reveal. I love the way Genesis 2:1 reads, “Thus the heavens and the earth were completed in all their vast array.”

moon

Our son lives in another state. Therefore we don’t get to see each other, hug each other and love on each other often. One time he called feeling very sad and lonely. My heart ached to reach out and hug him. I said one of those short arrow prayers, “Oh, God help. My son is so lonely and my heart is breaking.”  I glanced out my patio door and saw a gloriously bright and full moon. Holy Spirit inspiration hit!  I said to my son, Jay, “Honey walk outside right now.  I will too”. Once we were outside together, yet 1000 miles apart, I said, “Look at the moon isn’t it beautiful?” “Ah mom, it really is, but I wish you were here. “I wish that too Jay”. I shared words of affirmation, praise and love to my son. As he began to feel peaceful knowing how much he was loved and adored, I then said, “Honey I’m looking at this same moon right now with you. We each found a spot or two upon the moon to dialogue over.” Dialogue such as, “You see that area to the left, kind of looks like your Dad’s bowling ball.” He replied, ” Yeah, imagine dad throwing that big a ball down the lanes.  He’d get strikes all the time”, as he chuckles.

We live thousands of miles apart, yet in that moment the moon in the “heavens” brought us close. That moment filled my son’s heart with love and closeness as he realized even miles apart we could still share special memories together.

Tonight, I plan on going outside under the night sky to gaze at the beauty, the glory, the splendor of the array which God has provided. Perhaps, just maybe, God will be looking out over this same array and for a brief time, we will enjoy a special connection moment just between the 2 of us.

When was the last time you sat in the darkness under the stars? When was the last time you allowed your soul to be filled with amazing wonder as you gazed at the expense of the heavens; a.k.a. the sky? Tonight might be a great time to do just that.  How about it?  Will you join me?

Joyfully yours,
Sandra

Psalm 96:11-12 Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let the sea resound, and all that is in it. Let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them; let all the trees of the forest sing for joy.
Romans 1:20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.
Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

