Hexakosioihexekonatahexaphobia – Now you’ve said a mouthful!

Recently I shared we’re born with only 2 fears; the fear of falling and the fear of loud noises. Now, how they determine this is beyond me, but this seems to be the consensus among the experts.  I discovered over 538, phobias; over 538! Some of the phobias I found seemed a little odd, such as, Porphyrophobia. Porphyrophobia is the fear of the color purple; my favorite color… I simply cannot understand how such a beautiful color like purple brings fear to a person’s soul . 🙂 Tongue-in-cheek humor aside – for those who suffer from Porphyrophobia the fear is very real and no laughing matter. I cannot imagine suffering from Anemophobia; the fear of air. A favorite phobia to pronounce is Hexakosioihexekonatahexaphobia; fear of the number 666. Click here to hear the pronunciation http://www.forvo.com/word/hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia/

As I look over the list of 538 phobias, it appears one can develop an extreme fear of just about anything. My feeble little mind has a hard time comprehending how this happens. Yet, I know if one was to look at my life and discover some of the things for which I am fearful, many would say they too have a hard time understanding.

phobia 2In researching how phobias develop one can easily find themselves lost in the myriad of psychological lingo such as Freud’s theory which states “phobias are based in anxiety reactions of the id which have been repressed by the ego. The id being the most primal and instinctive part of the mind and is the basis of such primitive emotions as fear and anxiety.”[1]  Freud is saying the currently feared object is not the original subject of the fear. In other words, there’s a root cause to our fear. Take for instance the fear of the color purple. The fear is not rooted in the actual color itself, but what the color represents to that person. The following website gives information on how fear develops into a phobia – http://www.encyclopedia.com/topic/phobias.ASPX.

Our fears are learned. We can unlearn them, or at the very least, learn to lessen their impact, or control over our lives.

I would love to say I have overcome my fear but, unfortunately if I did, I would be lying. I adapted at an early age and found ways to deny fears existence in my life.  I hid my fear by shoving it so far down, way deep, no one knew; after a while I too, no longer knew I was moving through my world with fear as my compass. I am in the process of discovering how to manage my unhealthy fear; how not to allow unhealthy fear to manipulate, control, or be a deciding factor in what I do and how I respond. I’m not a psychologist, I do not possess any kind of medical degree. I’m simply a woman doing her best to walk with God. Phobias go well beyond my scope of knowledge or understanding.

I have first-hand knowledge of fear due to my own life experiences. I know fear can debilitate and control and keep us from enjoying everyday life. Hopefully, coming from a place of vulnerability and sharing my struggles with fear, others will find hope and answers; this is the purpose of “Fearless Monday’s”.  I invite others along because I suspect, like me, denial of fear has been their modus operandi and they are unaware how much fear has impacted their daily lives

Many may not recognize fear in their life due to defining fear in the extreme. Yet they will fret, worry, have concern over, be anxious about, be afraid of, have apprehension for, etc. often, if not daily; all of which have a root in fear.  Many of us will fall somewhere in-between.

The issue is not fear in itself.  The issue is how we respond and react to the fear in our life; phobiato the worry, the concerns, the anxiousness and apprehensions which face us every day. We can allow fear to manipulate, maneuver, and even control our lives or we can trust God with our fear. God does not want us to be afraid!

Okay, this one is going to hurt a little… Fear, especially for a Christian, is a lack of trust in God. There, I said it. “Fear is a lack of trust in God”; ouch. Take a moment to let this thought sink in, allow it to take root. If we’re fretting, worrying, stewing… whatever name you prefer to call it, we are not trusting and we are living a life controlled, or at the very least adapted too, by fear.

I would liken my journey to an oceans undertow.  On top the water looks as it should, inviting  the unaware swimmer.  One steps into the inviting ocean never realizing just a little further in the water, underneath the surface, a strong current awaits; ready to suck you down.  Sometimes a person can be in the land between.  Off the shore and in the water, but not quite far enough in for the undertow to grab hold; yet you feel the undertow’s energy, always there, always surging, always keeping you slightly off balance.  The land between has become my resting place. I no longer desire to feel the underlying energy known as fear.

How about you?

Until next time,
Sandra

Next: A look at the Garden

“These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace, (a life without fear). In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 emphasis mine.

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

