Zucchini and Chicken – Yum

Due to a back injury relapse, I find myself not accomplishing much these past few weeks. It’s given me lots of time to think. Some would say that’s a good thing, and others might disagree; I say, “Good thing!”  One of the things I have been “chewing” on, pun intended, is the realization I could do better in following my healthy eating plan. Even with all my oops-es and not completely paying attention to what I put in my mouth, the scale says I have dropped 3.4 pounds. Yahoo! This is rewarding and confirms simple changes in eating patterns do make a difference.

By this time I should have already given up most sugar in my diet. Keyword being should have. Therefore, this week’s target is to be off most, if not all, sugar by the time I post the next Wellness Wednesday blog; and to continue changing my eating habits to a low-carb life style.

I came across another wonderful recipe.  I never thought of putting these two ingredients together in this fashion.  I think this recipe would also be great served as a lettuce wrap – yum.

Chicken and Cucumbers Stir-FryIngredients:

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 6 medium scallions, sliced thin
  • 1 tablespoon peeled and minced fresh ginger
  • 1 medium garlic clove, minced
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced thin
  • 2 medium cucumbers, found lengthwise, seated, and sliced thin, 2 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons unseasoned rice vinegar
  • Up to 1 teaspoon hot red-pepper sauce, optional

Directions:

1. Spray a large wok or skillet with nonstick cooking spray; set over medium-high heat until smoking. Add the scallions, ginger, and garlic. Toss and stir over the heat for 30 seconds.

2. Add the chicken strips. Toss and stir until lightly browned and any trace of pink is gone, about 3 minutes.

3. Add the cucumbers. Stir-fry until heated through and softening at the edges, about 2 minutes. Pour in the soy sauce, rice vinegar, and hot red-pepper sauce; if using. Stir until bubbling, until the chicken has absorbed some of the sauce, less than 1 minute.

Yield: 4 servings

Tips:

  • For an even quicker meal, look in the butcher case for sliced boneless skinless chicken breasts, sometimes sold as chicken breasts for stir-fry.
  • No need to peel cucumbers, if they are organic or from a farmers market. However, most standard cucumbers from the supermarket have been waxed with a food-grade wax and should be peeled for the best tasting dish.
  • Rice vinegar needs a note: Unseasoned rice vinegar is just rice vinegar, usually not labeled as anything other than rice vinegar. “Seasoned” rice vinegar includes sugar. Make sure you have unseasoned; look at the ingredient list on the bottles label.
  • Hot red-pepper sauce – You can use Tabasco or a similar hot sauce.

Recipe from the 17 Day Diet Cookbook by Dr. Mike Moreno

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

