God’s Masterpiece

purple claret cactusGod goes to great lengths to surround us with beauty; amazing beauty seen as I sit on a mountain top watching a sunrise. Beauty as I observe shadows dancing among the crags in the mountain. Beauty at the ocean’s edge; colors of purple, orange, red and gold sparkle in dance across the ocean waves as I watch the sun set in glorious splendor.  God’s beauty is all around – A newborn’s cry as it enters the world for the first time – a hummingbird as its wings hum in rhythmic sound while sipping nectar from the tiniest of blooms – the sound of water babbling along in a stream; when I sit quietly I can almost hear it speak. Yes, God’s beauty is all around.  I see it in the bright moon as it smiles upon me lighting the way in the dark; the twinkle of stars in the heavens, glittering almost giddily in the night sky, too numerous to count, . I could go on and on. I could fill pages in a book of the hundreds of ways God has spread beauty across my world, across our world.  He certainly didn’t have to… He did because He loves us.

sea hourse

God created our world in all its beauty and said “…it is good.”  Today in our world good simply means okay; nothing extraordinary… just good, middle of the road acceptable.  God’s expressing much more than our interpretation of good.  He’s expressing perfection… I can almost picture Him leaning back looking over His creation, heaving a contented sigh of achievement, and saying “Ahhh, perfect… this is good… this is very good!” Awe inspiring and truly amazing; hold on to your hats… God created beauty… we get to see it all around us… yes, He is amazing….  hold on, here it comes, don’t miss this… God sees this same beauty in each of us!  God sees the same beautiful perfection of His creation in each of us! When I think that God sees me with the same sigh of “Ahhh, perfect… this is good… this is very good” all my little idiosyncrasies’, my imperfections, my less-than’s and supposed “warts” disappear. I come to understand the verse “I am fearfully and wonderfully made”.  God does not make junk, only masterpieces!  Did you catch that? Masterpieces! You and I are “Masterpieces”!

The next time, no, each time you see something beautiful, or something amazing happens in your life, and you find yourself uttering the words, “Amazing, incredible, so good, breath-taking, etc.”, remember… God thinks you are too!

Until next time,

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well Psalm 139:14”

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

6 thoughts on “God’s Masterpiece”

  1. Good blog today! I was hoping as I read down that you would get to God’s greatest creation — and you didn’t fail me. Amazing as it can possibly be, God created US according to His pleasure (Eph 1:3-6) among many other reasons, and said it was VERY good. And the earth was created for OUR enjoyment and pleasure. Enjoy it to the fullest! God is so good! All the time!

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

