It Takes Motivation

I believe I forgot a very important item from my “Aging Gray-ce-fully “- 17 Day, Healthy Eating – Lifestyle Change checklist; M-O-T-I-V-A-T-I-O-N.  I researched recipes.  I took the dreaded before picture and did the # on the scale thingy.  I had my grocery list ready and my trip to the store scheduled.  I joined Dr. Mike’s Facebook page for weekly emails of encouragement.  I even joined the 17 Day Diet Recipe section of Facebook.  I was set ready and rocking to go… well, almost.

Jimmy Dean QuoteSomething happened on the way to the start line; I left my motivation in the stands.  I have two choices, I can consider myself one whopping failure, or I can muster up the motivation.  Here is the 100 dollar question…”How does one muster up motivation”?  Doesn’t motivation come from some where inside?  I have never been a good self-motivator, hence the reason my book or books are still in my head.

I’ve really no “real” knowledge in this area, therefore, I went to “the source” – the internet.  I found 10 terrific self-motivation tips by Mike Moore. (Do a Google search on motivation… it is fun 🙂 )

  1. Be willing to leave your comfort zone. The greatest barrier to achieving your potential is your comfort zone. Great things happen when you make friends with your discomfort zone.
  2. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Wisdom helps us avoid making mistakes and comes from making a million of them.
  3. Don’t indulge in self-limiting thinking. Think empowering, expansive thoughts.
  4. Choose to be happy. Happy people are easily motivated. Happiness is your birthright so don’t settle for anything else.
  5. Spend at least one hour a day in self-development. Read good books or listen to inspiring tapes. Driving to and from work provides an excellent opportunity to listen to self-improvement tapes.
  6. Train yourself to finish what you start. So many of us become scattered as we try to accomplish a task. Finish one task before you begin another.
  7. Live fully in the present moment. When you live in the past or the future you aren’t able to make things happen in the present.
  8. Commit yourself to joy. C.S. Lewis once said, “Joy is the serious business of heaven.”
  9. Never quit when you experience a setback or frustration. Success could be just around the corner.
  10. Dare to dream big dreams. If there is anything to the law of expectation then we are moving in the direction of our dreams, goals and expectations.

I will not focus on my failure to start.  I will focus on #9, “Success is just around the corner”!

Charles Dubois once said, “We must be prepared, at any moment, to sacrifice who we are for who we are capable of becoming.”

Until Next Time,

http://topachievement.com/mikemoore.html

Mike Moore is an international speaker/writer on the role of appreciation, praise and humor in performance motivation and human potential. You can check out his books, tapes and manuals at www.motivationalplus.com.

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “It Takes Motivation”

  1. God bless you, I will be praying for you to get back on track and that your motivation will return and you will loose the weight, I think I have gained all the weight back I lost, it is so easy to find it again.

    Sent from my iPad For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that who so ever believes on Him might be saved. John 3:16

    Like

    1. Appreciate the prayers Marian. I am sorry to hear that you have found what you lost. Perhaps one or two of these motivation tips will work for you too 🙂

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

