Waging War Once Again

An interesting thing happens to us when we hit our mid-40s, our metabolism changes; especially if we’re not proactive in maintaining a healthier lifestyle. Until my mid-40s weight gain or loss wasn’t a major issue. If I gained a little weight I could lose it fairly easy. Then the age of 40 arrived and everything changed; over-night it seemed. Recently, I decided to take action and declare war on my unhealthy eating habits; unfortunately, not for the first time. Over the past 20 years, I’ve declared war on weight gain several times without much success. I dieted because of pride. I dieted because of some number on a scale. I dieted because my body was God’s temple and His Spirit resides within (1 Cor. 3:16-17 side-note: this passage has nothing do with our eating habits). I dieted because weight charts say I border on obesity; never taking into account age, body structure, etc. I dieted due to a high BMI. I dieted for a number of reasons, some with merit, some not so meritorious. Recently I came across the top 10 reasons, medically, to lose just 10 lbs. in body weight if one is overweight.

Top 10 Medical reasons, listed in no particular order:

  • Lower blood pressurefruits and vegetables
  • Improved heart health and lower cholesterol levels
  • Decreased risk for diabetes
  • Enhanced sex life
  • Better night’s sleep (especially for those with obstructive sleep apnea)
  • Less pain associated with arthritis, joint disease, and lower back pain.
  • Better breathing
  • Decreased risk for colon and breast cancer
  • Healthier gallbladder
  • More energy

8 of 10 reasons listed say I would feel better if I simply lost 10 lbs. (No, I will not be revealing the two I do not need to work on :).

Here are a few non-medical reasons for losing those extra pounds.

Money savings – If like me you have more than one size of clothing in your closet – losing just 10 lbs. will put you in a smaller size or at the very least your clothes will fit better. You can go shopping in your closet. – Junk food is more costly – eating healthier will add money in our bank accounts. Stronger Immune system – means less trips to the doctor, oops, this one would be medical 🙂

Sadly, I chalked up experiencing 8 out of 10 of these, medical reasons, to aging. Aging certainly has a part in the wearing down of our bodies. To underestimate being overweight could have tragic consequences and as a Christian potentially plays right into the Devil’s hands.

…let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,… Hebrews 12:1-4 ESV. If I am not 100% at my best health, I cannot run the race God has placed before me with confidence and stamina. Eating for health is a discipline; discipline not my strong suit. It is time I stopped wavering like shifting sand – take control and do better.

Therefore, I’m waging war, once again, on unhealthy eating habits. I hope you find encouragement in the weeks to come as I share my journey towards a healthy lifestyle.

Until next time,

Sandra

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. … I am fearfully and wonderfully made” Psalm 139 13-14 NIV

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “Waging War Once Again”

  1. Sandra, I applaud your determination & truly hope it works for you. I will be reading about the 17-day diet to see if it might work for me. But… every person who goes on a diet has the same problem – how to keep it off! I have lost hundreds of pounds (the same pounds) throughout my lifetime & they always come right back, because of the way we are wired, I suppose. Ninety-five percent of dieters will regain the weight. Only five percent will succeed. That figure becomes more shocking when you consider that only one out of 33 alcoholics never drink again. That’s how difficult it is to not regain the weight. Anyone can lose weight. If we could keep it off, eventually everyone would be nice and slim and healthy. So the next diet I go on, will have to feature some plan for assuring it will not be regained. Again, I applaud you effort & thank you for your willingness to share the battle you are undergoing. Big hugs, Jan.

    Like

    1. Hi Jan,

      Thank you for your comments and applause 🙂 This is more about getting to a healthier style of eating than simply losing weight (weight loss is definitely part of the initial equation). I will keep you posted every Wednesday until… well until I have no more to say I guess 🙂 :). It is always easier with someone else. Join me in the endeavor and we can spur each other to our goal. A healthier life. Let me know. Purple hugs, Me

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

