Spiritual House of Stone

In my devotional time with the Lord this morning, I was reminded of my January  2013 blog Like a River Flows – – – – “The river flows strong and swift in one section peaceful and calm in another. The river has many twists and bends. It has spots of great depth and some so shallow you wonder how the river keeps going. The river works its way over rocks and pebbles finding its way around large boulders; which potentially could block the flow keeping the river from attaining its final destination. At times the river comes to a spot where the only place it can go is down and drops into a pool of water with majestic force; creating one of the most beautiful wonders of God – waterfalls! The river may boldly stretch for miles in a straight line under conditions that defy nature”.

rocky-streamA river is designed by its very nature for bends and twists, for fast running rapids and times of slow-moving trickles. Personally, I would like my life to be more the slower paced river movement. Ah, but alas, that would not be a good thing.  Unless my life has the twists and turns, the ups and downs, the fast-paced times and slow-moving times I will not go forward. Without the twists and turns, the ups and downs,  I would grow stagnant and stale. I will never fulfill God’s ultimate purpose in my life; to be more like Christ. Unless man interferes a river will always work its way to its intended destination. If we would surrender our lives allowing it to follow the path as God intended, we too would always reach our destination. All too often however, man, humankind, me myself and I, interferes.

1 Peter 2:4-5 “as you come to him, the living Stone – rejected by men but chosen by God and precious to him – you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

stones As I read these verses I found myself picturing God building a spiritual house for me along the edge of  this   same river – one stone at a time; each stone spiritual in nature – a character stone; the stones of integrity, honesty, discipline, graciousness, justice, compassion, trust, truth, joy, etc.  I wondered how many stones God would be able to place. What would they look like? I suspect some would be ragged and rough around the edges still waiting for the touch of the Masters hand. Others would have some smooth spots, worn spots and rough spots; those being the stones of acceptability, yet, still needing a wee bit of polish before becoming a smooth stone of beauty. Finally, some would be stones of honor, stones of surrender, stones which bring God glory. These are the stones where we allowed the Holy Spirit to work; to work smoothing away the ragged edges and removing the impurities of sin in our lives.

Here’s to a house of living stones,

Be encouraged,
Sandra

“The Lord tears down the house of the proud, but he sets the widow’s boundary stones in place.” Proverbs 15:25

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

