I’m Not Dead Yet :)

Over the past few years, around January 1st, I review my journals of past years. Reading them is enlightening, gratifying, scary, and disappointing.  Enlightening as I see the path of my journey with more clarity. Seeing growth brings gratification; disappointing to see, again and again, areas still needing growth. Scary… well, not in the sense you might think. Scary in there are things I clearly felt God calling me too which I have left undone or totally ignored. I can’t help wonder how long will He let me continue before bringing me to my knees.

As I look through my journals I typically begin from the earliest one I have and go forward. This year I decided to start backwards. The journal for 2011 took about 10 – 20 minutes to read.  Sadly, I have struggled this past year. If truth be told I have hardly prayed or spent time with God this past year. Not my finest hour. The thousand dollar question… why? I don’t know.

There had been a couple of milestones in my life that year which I am pretty sure attributed to my lack of enthusiasm. The obvious is an injury which put me in a wheelchair. Praise God, He answered many prayers being said on my behalf. Believe it or not I turned a year older; one of those milestone years. You know, one of those decade years we prefer not to discuss. Turning this age really bugged me. With the injury, the aches and pains of getting older, the fact it seems to take me twice as long to do things, etc. I have been feeling old. I catch myself saying things like “Is that any way to treat an old lady?” Or, “Well that’s the price you pay when you get older.” “This getting older sucks!” and “Come on I’m an old lady you know!” All in jest of course, yet each time I say phrases like these, a little chunk sticks around.  Before I know it, they become my belief.

Now let’s speak some truth into the situation.

  • Truth number 1 – We are aging.  From the time we are born until we die, we are getting older.  All a part of the plan called life.
  • Truth number 2 – Yes, we may be slowing down  – We may no longer be able to do what we could before.  That’s okay, who wants to jump robe anyway 🙂
  • Truth number 3 – We are able to do a ton of things.  We need to stop grieving over what we cannot do and look to what we can.
  • Truth number 4 – Age is only a number, a way of recording our progress. It’s not a mile defining marker which says, “You must now be put out to pasture”!

The sad reality is, as we age, society does tend to treat us differently; to treat us less than. We have a choice. We can listen to the voices of defeat, or we can say, “Hogwash”.  I say, “Hogwash! Hogwash! Hogwash!”

Someone once said that age was a state of mind… AMEN.

Allow me to introduce myself to you… “Hello, my name is Sandra; and I am ageless!”

Until next time – Be encouraged,

Sandra

Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness. Proverbs 16:31

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

3 thoughts on “I’m Not Dead Yet :)”

  1. Sent from my iPad For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that who so ever believes on Him might be saved. John 3:16

    Like

  2. You are going strong Jack. A great example! I don’t exactly know what happened on my blog. This is not a current post, but actually one of a year ago. I am going through past blogs categorizing and sorting in an effort to streamline navigation on my site. I found a typo in this particular blog post, and went into correct the typo. Not sure what happened. Instead of updating the blog it completely re-posted the blog. Perhaps there is someone out there that needed to hear it. Or perhaps I need a gentle reminder that God is not finished with me yet 🙂 Again, thank you for always being the encourager.
    Until next time;

    Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

