Why I blog – Changes may be coming :)

Good morning,

In my quiet time with the Lord today I prayed for direction regarding my ministry to others through my blogs. I am reading the Bible backwards this year and my scheduled reading is 2 Peter. I opened my Bible; a chuckle and a smile arose as I read “Making One’s Calling and Election Sure”. I said, “I have come to the right place to find wisdom”. God never fails to meet me in His Word when I ask…. Never!

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” 2 Peter 1:3 The passage goes on to give us a clear picture how to make One’s calling and election sure. This passage was written for us to understand how to be effective and productive in our knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. While not written regarding blogging and my ministry questions, it does shed light for the answers I seek. Purple Princes Reflections and 3 other blogs I write, are written in the hope of making a difference. I pray sharing my life experiences within the walls of the blogging world will give you, my readers, comfort, hope, and an occasional chuckle, for whatever situation you are facing. Hope which says, “I am not alone. Comfort because someone else understands”. I pray you will discover Jesus was not just some man who lived a long time ago, He interacts in each of us today; I pray you will discover God still speaks to us today – through His Word the Bible. Finally, I pray, through my life experiences you see Christ’s interaction in my life, knowing He will do the same for you. Finally, I pray in some small way my sharing life with others will leave a legacy which will go on long after God has called me home. A legacy which says, “You can do! Don’t give up! God’s got your back, trust Him!

I have shared before, I never had a desire to write; in fact I detested writing until a few years ago. I am 61 years old. I truly believe God placed this desire upon my heart and blessed me with inspiration and ability. Writing so personally, on the internet, in a blog, requires a level of vulnerability for which I am often uncomfortable. I have many followers … yet 10 times as many people read my blog never leaving a comment or signing up to be a follower; these people remain a mystery in my world. My words and thoughts are going places I have no clue. There is a level of trust I must have in the integrity of people and God.

Lest you begin to get the wrong idea, ” No, I am not giving up sharing my faith through blogging”. God is calling me in a different way, perhaps more transparent with even more vulnerability. I simply need His wisdom for clarity, listening ears, a heart of trust, and confidence to discover the media or platform for the calling which lies before me. Is it a book? Am I to pursue speaking engagements? Writing for magazines? Continue as I have been doing? All of the above? None of the above?

Writing a blog, let alone 4 or 5, is challenging and time consuming, even though it brings me great joy 🙂 It is time to narrow my scope. I will continue my blogs, Purple Princess Reflections and Through the Bible Together. They will under-go minor changes in appearance and organization. The goal – easier navigation. Until I know which direction God is leading I will be right here sharing with you my friends and mystery followers, my life; “The life of a simple woman, with God at the helm.

Thank you for being my avid readers, supporters and encouragement.

Until next time,

Sandra

20130515-143440.jpg

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “Why I blog – Changes may be coming :)”

  1. Keep on Blogging. You do a wonderful job and I always appreciate it when you post something new. We all have our battles and our demons to fight off each day because thats the Devil and how he works. Jesus is on one shoulder and the Devil is on the other. Jesus is love and what we all need while the Devil is temptation and what we don’t need. Who wins? I Pray it is the one who loves us enough that he gave his life on the cross so we might be with him when our life on this old earth is finished.
    Love,
    Jack.

    Like

    1. Thank you Jack for your kind encouragement. I do not intend to quit. Simply streamlining my focus, perhaps. Appreciate your prayers for clarity and direction. I began writing to make a difference in the lives of women. It warms my heart to know men find my words encouraging!
      Hugs, my friend.

      Like

  2. Sandra,
    I truly enjoy what you have to share. I wish to learn from you and have ups and downs along the way. I have no answers, only questions and when the answers come, I’m not sure I will remember. I have many battles, I can only live in the moment. But you can count on me as a supporter or what Our Lord has in mind.
    Smiles,
    Bootsey

    Like

    1. Bootsey,
      I am planning to continue blogging. I am feeling very led to write a book which will focus on my journey to wholeness. How much will get shared on a blog, is in part, the decision I am weighing. I write because I feel God asked me too. I write in the hope which says, “If I share my life with others it will make a difference in theirs”. I truly appreciate your words of encouragement and willingness to be a supporter and fan!
      Until next my friend, consider yourself hugged!

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

