Like a River Flows – Go I

2013 has arrived! I watched the festivities as the ball dropped, in New York City, this year with a slightly different perspective. I listened as many said, “It’s a new year”, “new beginnings”; “Out with the old in with the new”.  I listened and I watched with great curiosity. I wondered, “How does one second make a difference”? One second we are in the year 2012, and the very next second we find ourselves in 2013.  Yes, I am very aware a second of time can change one’s life. I lost a good friend this year, totally unexpected; one second he was here… the next second gone for eternity. I didn’t expect any magical thing to happen as I watched the clock click the seconds away from 2012 to 2013. In fact, I might have been a wee bit blah-humbug-ish about the whole thing. I looked out my window as the New Year dawned, I gazed at the wonder of God’s creation, and I was reminded that nothing stays the same.

Many of us resist change, we don’t like change, and yet, we embrace the change from one year to the next.  Why? What’s so magical about one single second? The answer is found in the word….Hope! Whether the past was a good year or a bad year doesn’t matter, the hope in the next year being better motivates us to look forward with renewed expectation and anticipation. New Year’s resolutions are about the hope of change; the confidence that says “This time I will make it”!  “This time I will accomplish my goal”. “This year I will ______________?”

The hope of new beginnings, of blessing and favor from God in my life, brings a smile to my face  and a pitter- patter to my heart. When change brings positive results and warm fuzzy feelings, I am filled with joy, ready to embrace the changes; I, however, am not so willing to embrace change which brings discord, discontent, confusion and unsettledness. The year 2012 was such a year for me as I began the journey of coming to terms with aging. Entering into the Fall Season of Life (aging) is uncomfortable and the course unknown. I have Faith – God is at work in my life.  He can do immeasurably more than I can ever ask or imagine. Ephesians 3:20

Did you know a river’s path/course is always changing? A river flows strong and swift in one section, peaceful and calm in another. A river has many twists and bends. It has spots of great depth and some so shallow you wonder how the river keeps going. The river works its way over rocks and pebbles. The River finds its way around large boulders which have potential to block the flow of its course. There are times when the river comes to a spot were the only place it can go is down and it drops into a pool of water with majestic force; creating some of the most beautiful wonders of God – waterfalls. The river may boldly stretch for miles in a straight line under conditions that defy nature. Unless man interferes a river will always work its way to its intended destination.

Siuslaw National Forest, OregonWhat will 2013 hold for me?  No clue?  Like the river I will surrender to the Master Creator.  May my life be ever-changing; ever moving, always being renewed and transformed as I travel my path; smoothing the pebbles, going around the boulders, being strong and bold, enjoying the twists and turns along the way.  May I give comfort, and bring peace and calm to others, much like a bubbling brook. May I take time to look up and enjoy the splendor, the beauty of God’s creation, experiencing the wonder of God along the way until I reach my final destination.

Here is to embracing the Fall Season of Life and all it holds 🙂

 

Until next time,

Sandra

“I will meditate on the glorious splendor of Your majesty, And on Your wondrous works.” Psalm 145:5

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

4 thoughts on “Like a River Flows – Go I”

  1. It’s very nice to find another fellow daughter of the King here on the web! There’s something great about hope, isn’t there? Our hope is certain, so it’s not like the kind of “hope” we often hear of. This year, I hope to be able to help lots of people identify what’s been holding them back with regard to their health–physical, yes, but also emotional, spiritual, whatever. Then, by God’s grace, help them navigate toward their goals in a liberating way, so they can fulfill whatever potential God has for them. The Lord has led me to live a bit “on the edge” for a long time, & I’m hoping to get some things dealt with once & for all this year– like paying off some old, encumbering debts so I am free to travel where He leads & to give a lot more! But whatever the year brings, I know He’s always gotten me through the tough spots, the deserts of life. My biggest hope is always to know Him & be with Him, to bring a smile to His face. Thanks for being awesome!

    Like

  2. Like a river flows so do I. I know that God loves you and me even though sometimes I don’t see how he does. “Speaking of myself only of course”. I try my best but like the Apostle Paul I find myself at time doing the things I know I shouldn’t be doing and why I don’t know except I am a sinner by nature. God loves me all the same and no matter how bad I can be at times he welcomes me back with open arms if I only ask. The river if life is a rough one with all the ugly things and temptations that is around us all the time and all those things can be very alluring. We must remember that Gods love is endless and Jesus is the only way to heaven if we but seek him. I ask God everyday for Faith, Love and humility. I figure if I have those things my life like the river will just keep flowing along and eventually will hopefully straighten out. God loves me and you.
    Love, Jack.

    Like

    1. Jack,
      I like how you said the words, “If we but seek Him”. There in lies the gist of keeping our river flowing through the twists, the turns, the valleys and the dips along the way. Thank you for commenting – It is always an encouragement to my heart.

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

